Jump to content

Welcome to The Bolter and Chainsword
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

Question about second Warlord Trait for Mortarion

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1
Medjugorje

Medjugorje

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 2,235 posts
  • Location:MUNICH - GERMANY

is it possible that to gain that WL-Trait for a 4+++ as secound WL-Trait to Mortarion?



#2
CastellanDeMolay

CastellanDeMolay

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 448 posts
  • Location:Wherever heretics foul hearts beat.

I don't have the book, but I understand that the wording of Plaguechosen dictates that the beneficiary of the stratagem must not already have a Warlord Trait, which would mean that Mortarion could not have two. 


  • Medjugorje likes this

Natus Eruam Infernum. 


#3
Putrid Choir

Putrid Choir

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 434 posts
Characters generally have pre chosen warlord traits, they are shown on the same page as the traits in the codexes. There is no rules that if you have Mortarion he has to be your warlord, but if he is your warlord, he has to have arch contaminator. Just like relics, you can't double stack warlord traits either.

#4
Medjugorje

Medjugorje

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 2,235 posts
  • Location:MUNICH - GERMANY

a friend told me so. I was not sure if thats correct because I dont have the book. In the Space Marine books there are Stratagems which allows the WL to have 2 Traits. Thats why he thought it is allowed so.



#5
Putrid Choir

Putrid Choir

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 434 posts
"Use this Stratagem before the battle, after nominating your Warlord. Select one DEATH GUARD CHARACTER model from your army that does not have a Warlord Trait and determine one Warlord Trait for it; it is regarded as your Warlord for the purposes of that Warlord Trait. Each Warlord Trait in your army must be unique (if randomly generated, re-roll duplicate results)." Is the Death Guard one. Let's you pick a separate unit that is not a Warlord already and let's you pick a unique trait.

The space marine one is almost worded the same "Use this Stratagem before the battle, after nominating your Warlord. Select one ADEPTUS ASTARTES CHARACTER model from your army that is not your Warlord and determine one Warlord Trait for it; it is regarded as your Warlord for the purposes of that Warlord Trait. Each Warlord Trait in your army must be unique (if randomly generated, re-roll duplicate results). You can only use this Stratagem once per battle"

Neither allows you to double stack warlord traits.

#6
McElMcNinja

McElMcNinja

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 460 posts
  • Location:Kansas City, MO
  • Faction: Death Guard
The Death Guard codex says if Morty is your warlord he must have Arch Contaminator, but it's not listed on his data sheet. So as it stands now I would assume you could play that stratagem on him as long as he's not your warlord. I am sure it will be FAQ'd, so for a couple weeks enjoy.

#7
Putrid Choir

Putrid Choir

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 434 posts

The Death Guard codex says if Morty is your warlord he must have Arch Contaminator, but it's not listed on his data sheet. So as it stands now I would assume you could play that stratagem on him as long as he's not your warlord. I am sure it will be FAQ'd, so for a couple weeks enjoy.


I don't think you can, it words it rule wise you're making them warlord for the purpose of the trait, then you pick a trait. If you make morty warlord he has to have arch contaminator. Per the codex "The Death Guard's mightiest lords are renowned as much for their methodology as they are for their deeds on the battlefield. If one of the following named characters is your Warlord, they must be given the associated Warlord Trait shown below." The strat part says it "it is regarded as your Warlord for the purposes of that Warlord Trait". Has anyone seen another faction do it to named characters that has a similar strat? I never have.

Edited by Putrid Choir, 23 June 2020 - 10:50 PM.


#8
McElMcNinja

McElMcNinja

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 460 posts
  • Location:Kansas City, MO
  • Faction: Death Guard
The strat is saying treat the character as "warlord" for the purpose of the trait, so where a trait may say if within 7" of your warlord, you would have to be within 7" of that character.

#9
Putrid Choir

Putrid Choir

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 434 posts
"Select one DEATH GUARD CHARACTER model from your army that does not have a Warlord Trait and DETERMINE one Warlord Trait for it; it is regarded as your Warlord for the purposes of that Warlord trait". I see RAW you can't "determine" warlord traits for those characters, the codex determines it. And the fact that they never addressed it in the space marine codex faq and I've never seen a player do it before in any tournament makes me believe you can't do it. Do any other factions have a similar strat that we/I can check their faq? I feel like one extra sentence in alot of their rules or strats would clear so much stuff up haha.

#10
Sherrypie

Sherrypie

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 672 posts

The wording on those strats indicates to me that you can give Morty a trait, but his normal rules mean it has to be Arch-Contaminator even if the actual Warlord is someone else. The other guy must have something else to begin with for that to work.

 

Also, shame on the unfluffy blighters who use Morty without making him the Warlord :D


  • CastellanDeMolay likes this

#ConvertEverything!

30k / 40k / Epic: Truescale Death Guard project  http://www.bolterand...s-with-the-xiv/

AT: Legio Favilla walks, Ashen Gods unleashed http://www.bolterand...gods-unleashed/

gallery_48988_16045_17820.pngsml_gallery_48988_16045_8658.png


#11
Bulwyf

Bulwyf

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 1,378 posts
  • Location:Barbarus
  • Faction: Death Guard

You can't double stack or choose another WL trait for Morty. If he isn't your warlord and you use this stratagem to give him a trait that trait MUST be arch contaminator. 

 

There was a similar argument in Space Wolves groups about using their stratagem to get around characters having fixed WL traits but you can't. If you pick a named character you are stuck with their WL trait either as the WL or using a stratagem to have a second WL trait character.


  • Lord_Caerolion and Putrid Choir like this
40kDGBanner

 


#12
jgascoine011

jgascoine011

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 252 posts
Interesting
If Your warlord had arch contaminator, could you then use the strat of Morty, who then must also have arch contaminator
Pretty sure it’s not allowed though

#13
Bulwyf

Bulwyf

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 1,378 posts
  • Location:Barbarus
  • Faction: Death Guard

Interesting
If Your warlord had arch contaminator, could you then use the strat of Morty, who then must also have arch contaminator
Pretty sure it’s not allowed though

 

No, it has to be a different trait. Meaning the non Morty WL could not take Arch Contaminator because Morty would have to take it if you give Morty the extra WL trait. If you took Morty without him being a WL or without a WL trait then whoever is your WL could take Arch Contaminator. Unless that WL is a named character which would have to take whatever WL trait is in the book.


40kDGBanner

 





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users