How do the Necrontyr 'work'?

pawl

So like many I've got a copy of Indomitus coming, but I've never touched the Necrons before.

Rather than selling the other half I thought it might be a good chance to try something new instead, but I'm not really sure where to start (I had a look in the resources thread but there wasn't much there)

How exactly do Necrons work? From an Astartes perspective each Chapter and Legion have distinct traits, histories, tactics etc to go with their colour schemes, and you can of course create your own around those. I assume that Necrons work similarly? If so is there anywhere that gives a tl;dr version of the main Dynasties that I could try and start from?

I'm a hobbyist rather than a gamer, so rules and playability don't bother me - I'm looking for a combination of looking good when painted, with a cool enough 'history'. Bonus points if it's easy and fast to paint

Well, the necron dynasties arent nearly as fleshed out as SM chapters, but heres some info for you:

Sautekh: the 'vanilla' dynasty, kind of the ultramarine equivalent. Mostly intact tomb worlds, massive amount of resources. More expansionist than other dynasties. If youre taking named characters, chances are theyre Sautekh.

Novokh: focused on CC. More bloodthirsty than other crons.

Nihilakh: more defensive than other dynasties, these guys dont really do much beyond reinforcing their territory. So far anyway... also feature the only non-sautekh, non-independent character, Trazyn the Infinite of trolling fame.

Nephrekh: unlike most other necrons, these guys dont want to reverse biotransference and become flesh again, but want to go farther and transcend matter. So far, theyve had limited success, but they can become immaterial and blazingly fast. So thats nice.

Mephrit: star killers. Currently leaderless, as their phaeron didnt make it. Use said killed stars as power sources.