Grey primer

Greetings!

I'm about to start a new project with some Primaris Marines. I would like to paint them in the colours of the Red Scorpions and because of that I was considering to buy a GW grey primer (Mechanicum Standard Grey if I recall it correctly). Do you have any experience with it? Would you recommend it?

I work mostly with GW Chaos Black primer what never let me down, but I have some really bad experience with their white primer :sad.:  The hobby store from which I get all my stuff also sells Army Painter stuff, but I also had some bad experience with their white (that's why I dropped the initial idea of a Star Phantoms force...). I'm also looking for an alternative from the black primer because I want to paint some models in lighter colours and some fleshtone (like Repentia). 

Edited by TheDreadfulSagittary

Mech standard grey looks good, halfords spray I have a can of and tested out, but not used on a model - it's pretty good, though only a few £ less than GW spray.

If you want star phantoms, consider Grey Seer spray. It's just off-white, and you can give models a single coat of ulthuan grey to remove the contrast finish. 

Thank you all for the responses! 

Mech standard grey looks good, halfords spray I have a can of and tested out, but not used on a model - it's pretty good, though only a few £ less than GW spray.

If you want star phantoms, consider Grey Seer spray. It's just off-white, and you can give models a single coat of ulthuan grey to remove the contrast finish. 

Hmm, I did not take the new contrast primers in consideration until now. Aren't they any different from the rest of the primers?