My contribution to Orktober

lhg033

So,.. I've had a lot of orks for a very long time and done very little with them until recently (not including the second edition starter set and GorkaMorka)

With the advent of contrast paints and 8th edition I started painting again and last summer started messing around with orks a bit.

med_gallery_20758_2198_6728.jpg

During lockdown I actually started properly to paint Orks with a purpose in mind, switching from Goffs to something closer to Evil Sunz - mainly because I like the colour palette, and even going as far as building up new models to paint rather than just messing around with the ones I had already put together. This was nearly knocked on the head when the first batch of boyz i painted up were messed up by the spray varnish I used on them. I've tried a few tips from here and elsewhere to recover them but may just accept their fate and chalk it up to experience as they're still a bit hazy and have moved onto the next batch of boyz. I may show some of these later for everyone's amusement.

Anyway.... ramble over. For Orktober I decided to treat myself to something a bit more detailed/interesting and dug out an old metal model.

Sorry, not the best lighting but it should be enough to get a bit of feedback on the areas I'm thinking on.
med_gallery_20758_16707_629909.jpg

I need to tidy up a few bits (overspill of wash around the 'power' unit on the spanner/axe etc, add a few more highlights (picture doesnt show the ones there very well either) and I need to paint the front of the KFF. I'm wondering whether to add a bit of wear to stuff to.

I'm not sure what colour to paint the domes (black at the moment) on the KFF. I'm torn between metallics or trying out a glow of some kind or even just leaving them black.

I'm also not sure about the checked pattern on the shoulder pad. it's a bit Denis the Menace at the moment but I'm worried another colour might pull the view away from the head.