Jump to content

Welcome to The Bolter and Chainsword
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

How do I use Chaplain litanies?

Grey Knights Chaplain Rules

  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1
Reskin

Reskin

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 443 posts
  • Location:Aboard a Battle Barge

Having not had the pleasure of using the chaplain yet in armies I play.

 

Can someone explain how I use the litanies? I couldn't find anything in the 8th edition codex, or ritual of the damned on how exactly they work.

 

Do I roll a dice to activate it? When do I chose them? Do I have to change each turn?

 

What If I am in deep strike and arrive at the end of the movement phase? How do I activate it?

 

If its at the start of the turn, does that mean I don't have one active for the turn I arrive via deep strike?


Edited by Reskin, 17 November 2020 - 08:42 AM.

Z4m877V.jpg


#2
Closet Skeleton

Closet Skeleton

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 2,645 posts
  • Location:Hertfordshire
  • Faction: Black Templars

Choose one at the army building phase just like a psychic power option.

 

Activates on a 3+ that can't be rerolled.

 

Its start of the battle round so its useless if you're in a transport or reserve then. The new Space Marine codex has a stratagem to use it out of sequence with no die roll.


  • XeonDragon likes this

#3
CCE1981

CCE1981

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 933 posts
  • Faction: Tempestus Griffons
Read the Chaplain datasheet.
  • BluejayJunior and Hymnblade like this

#4
Karhedron

Karhedron

    ++ RENASCITUR EX MORS ++

  • ++ MODERATI ++
  • 4,226 posts
  • Location:Tending the Shrine of Asuryan
Instructions for chanting Litanies can be found in the Chaplain entries in the new SM Codex (p136-137). The rules for the Litanies themselves are on p112.

As Closet Skeleton mentions, they happen in the Command Phase (i.e. before moving) so you need to plan ahead when using them more than Psychic powers. The Stratagem "Commanding Oratory" allows you to chant a Litany at a different point in your turn and have it succeed automatically with no dice roll. This is useful if you Chaplain was in a transport at the start of a turn, came in from Reserves or you absolutely need to make sure that Litany activates. The downside is it cannot be used if the Chaplain has already chanted a Litany that turn.
  • Crix likes this
Sanguinius stood up, stretching his wings to their full extent. He flexed his hands. "I need no blade".
It was as though Sanguinius gleamed with pale light, his face white, eyes becoming blood-red, surrounded by the golden crown of flowing hair. Guilliman had witnessed glimpses of of his brother's wrath before, but had never seen the true Blood Angel unleashed. Sanguinius surged forward on alabaster wings, half a meter from the floor, whiteness streaming from him like flames.

#5
Reskin

Reskin

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 443 posts
  • Location:Aboard a Battle Barge

Right I think I got it. I only play GK, so I don't have access to the SM codex.

 

But a lot of my questions were answered.

 

So happens at the start of a battle round? Or in my command phase? So if I go second, I don't have a litany activated for that turn of shooting I'm taking?

 

3+ dice roll that can't be rerolled to activate/change the litany. What happens in consecutive rounds where I've already had a litany going, and I fail a roll to change it, does the previous litany stay activated?

 

Or can I just leave one litany active for the entire game? What if I don't want to change a litany, do I still have to roll each turn to keep the same one going or?


Z4m877V.jpg


#6
Karhedron

Karhedron

    ++ RENASCITUR EX MORS ++

  • ++ MODERATI ++
  • 4,226 posts
  • Location:Tending the Shrine of Asuryan
The rules for Litanies specify when they end so you can't just leave them switch on. You also cannot start the game with them active. They are very much like psychic powers in that you need to roll to activate them and then they last for the specified duration.
  • XeonDragon likes this
Sanguinius stood up, stretching his wings to their full extent. He flexed his hands. "I need no blade".
It was as though Sanguinius gleamed with pale light, his face white, eyes becoming blood-red, surrounded by the golden crown of flowing hair. Guilliman had witnessed glimpses of of his brother's wrath before, but had never seen the true Blood Angel unleashed. Sanguinius surged forward on alabaster wings, half a meter from the floor, whiteness streaming from him like flames.

#7
MetalMammoth

MetalMammoth

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 292 posts

All litanies last one battle round, and a chaplain can recite one each turn that hasn't been used by him or another chaplain that very turn - He can, if that's what you want, use the same litany again every round in the game.

Also, looking in the 8th edition SM codex would not help; It's not there. I'm told appropriate rules are found in one of the psychic awakening books.
I learned of them elsewhere.

I wonder if these things really didn't exist in the previous decades?

Anyway, do you know your choices of litanies or do you want me to list them?



#8
Oxydo

Oxydo

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 112 posts
  • Location:Sweden
  • Faction: Blood Ravens, XX

Also, looking in the 8th edition SM codex would not help; It's not there. I'm told appropriate rules are found in one of the psychic awakening books.
I learned of them elsewhere.

 

They very much exist in the 2019 codex, but no they weren't present in the first codex for 8th.


  • MetalMammoth likes this

gallery_96587_15500_15503.pnggallery_96587_15500_2763.png


#9
Brother Adelard

Brother Adelard

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 2,826 posts
  • Faction: Black Templars

Right I think I got it. I only play GK, so I don't have access to the SM codex.

 

But a lot of my questions were answered.

 

So happens at the start of a battle round? Or in my command phase? So if I go second, I don't have a litany activated for that turn of shooting I'm taking?

 

 

In 8th, it was battle round, so even if you went second, you still had a litany active.

In 9th, it's now your command phase, but lasts until your next command phase, so you cannot use a defensive litany in your opponent's first turn.

The same also applies to the stratagem, you can only use it at the beginning of one of your own phases.


O787td6.jpggallery_38474_6916_6036.jpg


#10
Reskin

Reskin

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 443 posts
  • Location:Aboard a Battle Barge

Cheers that answered a lot of my questions, The litanies and chaplain datasheet is in Ritual of the damned. I'm such an idiot, it clearly defines how to use them there in the chaplains datasheet. I completely overlooked it!

 

The chaplain data sheet was in the GK codex but he only had 1 litany at the time. And didn't explain how to use it.

I just asked the questions here as I knew a majority of the SM players would know exactly what to do!

 

Cheers so much for the help!


Edited by Reskin, 17 November 2020 - 10:35 AM.

  • duz_ and Brother Adelard like this

Z4m877V.jpg


#11
TheNewman

TheNewman

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 206 posts
The Chaplain litanies changed rather drastically between the first and second Marine Codexes in 8th. In the first codex the Chaplain's Litany of Hate was just the name of his always-on aura, there was no roll to activate it.





Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: Grey Knights, Chaplain, Rules

1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users