Kindly asking for suggestions to expand my first army.

NerdyFellow

Hey'a fellas.

I started painting in February, and I've still to play a game, but I'm getting close to having an army. My question today is in two parts. Firstly, what should I be adding to my army, and second, which of my unpainted minis should I paint as UM, and which of them can I use to start another chapter.

First, my painted minis, all of which are painted as Ultramarines:

Dark Imperium Box

Start Collecting Vanguard Box

Marneus & Honor Guard

Phobos Librarian

And my unpainted minis:

10x Intercessors

10x Reivers

3x Eliminators

1x Invictor Warsuit

1x Indomitus Box

I probably have enough troop choices painted all ready with the Dark Imperium Box and the Vanguard Box, but I'm open to adding more Intercessors/Assault/Reivers if anyone thinks that is a good idea, but I don't want to paint my unpainted minis as Ultramarines if they are not a good fit. As for my next purchases I have no idea what to buy. Tanks? Dreadnaughts? Librarian? Bobby G? Thank you for any tips and suggestions.

You definitely have enough troop choices for now. I'd say you've got lots to paint - don't buy anything further for now! Play a little bit and see how it goes first - hopefully that won't be too far away.

For choice of chapters, I think it's more down to whose lore/colour scheme you like better and playstyle. If you're still down for Ultramarian shooting and flexibility, stick with them.

Misc:

Intercessors good with every chapter.

Reivers, conversely good with no chapter currently.

Eliminators, best with Raven Guard but otherwise niche unit for other chapters

Invictor - good with all chapters, best with.. Salamanders? Iron Hands? not sure here

Indomitus box:

Assault intercessors/Outriders - best as White Scars/Blood Angels/Flesh Tearers

Bladeguard, Bladeguard Ancient, Judiciar - great in all chapters, best in WS/BA

Eradicators - great in all chapters

Chaplain/Captain/Lt. - decent in all chapters