My reference to mixed unit rules was only to point out that it is a specifically labeled rule that applies to the unit when being attacked. Specifically on how to determine what toughness is being used to wound said unit. So I was trying to dissuade you or anyone from saying it anymore.
I also dont understand how you're claiming I was unaware of what you said...when did I say that?
You're interpretation of the rule your keep mentioning is the very thing we've been matching up to the crux Terminatus listed in the DEATHWATCH TERMINATOR SQUAD datasheet.
Pg 51 Abilities
A model in a kill team unit retains any abilities that applied to that model on its original datasheet...ok so he doesn't lose his crux Terminatus....
Let's read the rest to make sure there aren't anymore exceptions....
If a model in a kill team unit has an ability on their original datasheet that requires every model in the unit to have that ability in order to be able to use it, then they can only use that ability if every model in their kill team unit has that ability....
So the terminator gets to keep and use his ability. It does not grant an ability to others in the kill team nor does it require others for him to use it.
When he dies it goes away.
To convey my point and what others are trying to explain to you is that the Abilities section DOES NOT exclude Abilities that affect others in the kill team unless it is an ability that requires all the models in the kill team unit have the ability.
If you can find text that says "a model in a kill team retains any abilities that are ONLY applied to that model that are on its original datasheet"...then I would say your argument has some weight to it. But as it stands, that's not the case. But that would still require GW
to rewrite crux Terminatus to only grant the 5+ invul save to itself or it would lose it because its ability grants it to the whole unit
Another option GW
could do is to make the Crux Terminatus a key word.
I also never said the rule isnt supposed to work that way. I am arguing that it is supposed to work that way but I'm pretty sure GW
did not intend to write it the way they did to allow the crux terminatus to apply to a kill team unit that has models without the ability.
I wasn't trying to be rude just a bit snarky. Only because it appears you have your mind too focused on the intended use. My first reply to this topic was..."Interesting"...because it had not crossed my mind and I had not made a detailed examination of this from a textual, black and white view point...which is something Qui-Gon is always going to lean towards even if he knows it needs to be changed.
I dont plan to use this in a competitive event but if I did, I would run by the TOs prior and make my case. Im 100% fine with TOs making arbitrary decisions prior to the match, especially in ranked events. If I choose to play in the event then its on me. But I will make contact with the ITC
/RTC if I feel that the TOs go against the RAW
. Most often they will only do that in regards to terrain interaction, conversions/proxies and a model's base size because that is something that is applied evenly to all players
They will lose reputation and participation if they start making changes to an armie's rules if it comes out that they were wrong.
If pre event I was told I could use the rule as written I would still explain it to my opponent and if he had questions I will show him the email response allowing me to use it this way.
Now if mid event they made a decision against this or did a dice roll off vs holding court to examine this in more detail...I'd let it go because most likely its going to take up some time from your opponents turn since he's attacking you and I hate giving my time to an opponent because we have lawyer up to resolve the issue.
Id bet money most judges would read what I'm explaining and get surprised that the RAW
tramples on the RAI
One of the other aspects of DW kill teams is that they have a lot of very specific restrictions and a detailed list of how the different units interact with the Kill Team.
Anyways I rest my case and I'm taking recess on this issue until after the holidays. I will be playing multiple games with my brother and friends for most of the weekend. I'll gather some data