Steel Legion Imperial Guard

Hello everyone!

I have been a long time lurker on this and other forums, and with more free time I wanted to explore having a project log.

My current project is Armageddon Steel Legion guardsmen. I have just started this project and am very exited. I have been playing 40k off and on for around 10 years, playing most armies but always coming back to Imperial Guard. I have a rather large Cadian force with 150+ infantry supported with some artillery. I have always like different sculpts for the guard and I wanted to expand my force with a contingent of a different faction. I have several Chimeras with my Cadians and Armoured Fist style guard in late 8th and early 9th edition has been my favourite play style. Although I recently expanded the Cadians to try all/mostly infantry guard, I thought that having a small force to use the Chimeras while my Cadians stay as all infantry would be an interesting idea. This would give me a couple distinct styles of guard models and also playstyles which for the moderate amount I play 40k would be fun and fluffy at the same time.

I really enjoy painting, and while my Cadian paint scheme was rather quick to paint, I wanted the Steel Legion to take longer, mainly because I wanted to try some new painting techniques. The first is a type of blending on the trench coat, where I use glazes, with a little wet blending to try and have blended highlights. I've never tried this before but videos on Youtube helped a lot. Secondly, I wanted to try ageing and wearing the leather which is all over these older Steel Legion sculpts, whereas for my Cadians I kept things clean. I based them quite simply on an Armageddon Ash Waste themed base which I think brings out the detail in the old metal minis.

Here is the first fire-team,
gallery_243213_16841_62769.jpggallery_243213_16841_91318.jpggallery_243213_16841_540903.jpggallery_243213_16841_411297.jpg