Jump to content

Welcome to The Bolter and Chainsword
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

Brotherhood of veterans stratagem.


  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1
TheUnlikelyGamer84

TheUnlikelyGamer84

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 134 posts
I’ve been using this with stalker vets for exploding 6s and this with rapid fire etc. did well. but I played a couple games today and the salamander slash captain isn’t enough melee punch and my templar opponent was able to first turn charge into my deployment with an impulsor of bladeguard and disrupt my scoring ability. Got stuck with his bladeguard for 3 turns killing only about 1 a turn. He killed 3 characters and a full size fortis team. I was going to bring some of my own as counter punch and I saw the warcom article on the emperors spears. Their tactic is +1 advance and charge and exploding 6s in melee. Has anyone thought about this yet? I’m not planning my whole army around this but might be worth a shot for clearing my marine opponents out of the mid board together with my Salamander slash Capt.

Edited by TheUnlikelyGamer84, 14 January 2021 - 04:08 AM.


#2
TheUnlikelyGamer84

TheUnlikelyGamer84

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 134 posts
On second thought guess blood angels, spacewolves or white scars would still be better.

Edited by TheUnlikelyGamer84, 14 January 2021 - 04:18 AM.


#3
Debauchery101

Debauchery101

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 1,496 posts
4x heavy bolters love exploding 6s
The Pleasure God's Chosen

Emperor's Children (RIP) 2500 pts
Death Guard 3500 pts
Iron Warriors 3000 pts
Enslaved Traitor Guardsmen 1500 pts
Daemons 4000 pts
Salamanders 3000 pts
Necrons 2000 pts

#4
Mobius0288

Mobius0288

    ++ FASCIA INFINITUM ++

  • ++ MODERATI ++
  • 682 posts

I think the strat says specifically use a chapter tactic from the space marine codex, so I don't think you can pick successor combos or something out of white dwarf.

 

A bonus thought for the stratagem... if you had a 5-man outrider unit already combat squaded and gave them the whitescars tactic. You'd be able to charge turn 1 if you're in range. You can also pair that with psychic powers, litanies and specialisms to your liking. Protection powers, offensive powers... take your pick. Oh and now the skilled rider stratagem to give them a -1 to hit in the space marine book, which is now possible after the FAQ about key word changes.


Deathwatch | Imperial Fist | Imperial Knights | Skitarii | Inquisition

#5
GrinNfool

GrinNfool

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 393 posts
  • Location:Denver

I’ve been using this with stalker vets for exploding 6s and this with rapid fire etc. did well. but I played a couple games today and the salamander slash captain isn’t enough melee punch and my templar opponent was able to first turn charge into my deployment with an impulsor of bladeguard and disrupt my scoring ability. Got stuck with his bladeguard for 3 turns killing only about 1 a turn. He killed 3 characters and a full size fortis team. I was going to bring some of my own as counter punch and I saw the warcom article on the emperors spears. Their tactic is +1 advance and charge and exploding 6s in melee. Has anyone thought about this yet? I’m not planning my whole army around this but might be worth a shot for clearing my marine opponents out of the mid board together with my Salamander slash Capt.

DId you mean the impulsor charged you, or that the bladeguard charged you?  Because if the impulsor did assuming standard 24" between just bad luck he made a 10" charge.  If the bladeguard charged you out of the impulsor he needs to read the rules on the impulsor, because you can't charge if you exit the vehicle after it moves, part of the assault vehicle rule.  And ya you can't choose something not on the book, they even say you can't choose successor stuff, so limited to the main chapters listed in there.
 


Edited by GrinNfool, 15 January 2021 - 06:31 PM.


#6
TheSauce

TheSauce

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 194 posts

You can select one chapter tactic (e.g. Blood Angels) or successor tactic (e.g. exploding 6s in melee), but can't mix and match 2 successor tactics.

So you have the option to get exactly the successor tactic you want, but in general the chapter tactics will give you more bang for your CP buck.



#7
Lemondish

Lemondish

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 3,571 posts

 

I’ve been using this with stalker vets for exploding 6s and this with rapid fire etc. did well. but I played a couple games today and the salamander slash captain isn’t enough melee punch and my templar opponent was able to first turn charge into my deployment with an impulsor of bladeguard and disrupt my scoring ability. Got stuck with his bladeguard for 3 turns killing only about 1 a turn. He killed 3 characters and a full size fortis team. I was going to bring some of my own as counter punch and I saw the warcom article on the emperors spears. Their tactic is +1 advance and charge and exploding 6s in melee. Has anyone thought about this yet? I’m not planning my whole army around this but might be worth a shot for clearing my marine opponents out of the mid board together with my Salamander slash Capt.

DId you mean the impulsor charged you, or that the bladeguard charged you?  Because if the impulsor did assuming standard 24" between just bad luck he made a 10" charge.  If the bladeguard charged you out of the repulsor he needs to read the rules on the impulsor, because you can't charge if you exit the vehicle after it moves, part of the assault vehicle rule.  And ya you can't choose something not on the book, they even say you can't choose successor stuff, so limited to the main chapters listed in there.
 

 

 

It's not exactly a charge, but Black Templars can get a combat unit into engagement range following disembarkation thanks to a Black Templar specific Stratagem. Basically, this is how the combo goes. 

 
It relies on a Stratagem called Devout Push, activated at the beginning of the Fight phase, that allows one selected Infantry or Biker unit to immediately pile in, even if they are not within Engagement range of any enemy units. 
 
So you move your 14" in the Impulsor, disembark yourself within 3" of it, move 6" as normal, then use Devout Push to pile in another 3" right at the beginning of the Fight phase, putting you within Engagement range of anything 24" away. They are now eligible to fight in the same turn they do all this. You can even Advance those Bladeguards if you want to forego their meager shooting for some extra range. You will miss out on any bonuses that trigger if you made charge, like Shock Assault, Knights of Sigismund, or some of the Litanies, but that's hardly that important given the value of just launching them into combat from halfway across the board very, very quickly.

Edited by Lemondish, 15 January 2021 - 06:33 PM.

  • TheUnlikelyGamer84 likes this

#8
TheUnlikelyGamer84

TheUnlikelyGamer84

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 134 posts



I’ve been using this with stalker vets for exploding 6s and this with rapid fire etc. did well. but I played a couple games today and the salamander slash captain isn’t enough melee punch and my templar opponent was able to first turn charge into my deployment with an impulsor of bladeguard and disrupt my scoring ability. Got stuck with his bladeguard for 3 turns killing only about 1 a turn. He killed 3 characters and a full size fortis team. I was going to bring some of my own as counter punch and I saw the warcom article on the emperors spears. Their tactic is +1 advance and charge and exploding 6s in melee. Has anyone thought about this yet? I’m not planning my whole army around this but might be worth a shot for clearing my marine opponents out of the mid board together with my Salamander slash Capt.

DId you mean the impulsor charged you, or that the bladeguard charged you? Because if the impulsor did assuming standard 24" between just bad luck he made a 10" charge. If the bladeguard charged you out of the repulsor he needs to read the rules on the impulsor, because you can't charge if you exit the vehicle after it moves, part of the assault vehicle rule. And ya you can't choose something not on the book, they even say you can't choose successor stuff, so limited to the main chapters listed in there.


It's not exactly a charge, but Black Templars can get a combat unit into engagement range following disembarkation thanks to a Black Templar specific Stratagem. Basically, this is how the combo goes.

It relies on a Stratagem called Devout Push, activated at the beginning of the Fight phase, that allows one selected Infantry or Biker unit to immediately pile in, even if they are not within Engagement range of any enemy units.

So you move your 14" in the Impulsor, disembark yourself within 3" of it, move 6" as normal, then use Devout Push to pile in another 3" right at the beginning of the Fight phase, putting you within Engagement range of anything 24" away. They are now eligible to fight in the same turn they do all this. You can even Advance those Bladeguards if you want to forego their meager shooting for some extra range. You will miss out on any bonuses that trigger if you made charge, like Shock Assault, Knights of Sigismund, or some of the Litanies, but that's hardly that important given the value of just launching them into combat from halfway across the board very, very quickly.

Lemondish is right. Sorry I didn’t respond right away. It’s not a charge I misspoke. It’s nasty though. so good with bladeguard.

#9
Debauchery101

Debauchery101

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 1,496 posts

You can select one chapter tactic (e.g. Blood Angels) or successor tactic (e.g. exploding 6s in melee), but can't mix and match 2 successor tactics.
So you have the option to get exactly the successor tactic you want, but in general the chapter tactics will give you more bang for your CP buck.

dont sleep on the 3 GW successor chapters they put out recently. Since they have white dwarf supplements if you choose those chapters you get both
The Pleasure God's Chosen

Emperor's Children (RIP) 2500 pts
Death Guard 3500 pts
Iron Warriors 3000 pts
Enslaved Traitor Guardsmen 1500 pts
Daemons 4000 pts
Salamanders 3000 pts
Necrons 2000 pts

#10
Debauchery101

Debauchery101

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 1,496 posts

I’ve been using this with stalker vets for exploding 6s and this with rapid fire etc. did well. but I played a couple games today and the salamander slash captain isn’t enough melee punch and my templar opponent was able to first turn charge into my deployment with an impulsor of bladeguard and disrupt my scoring ability. Got stuck with his bladeguard for 3 turns killing only about 1 a turn. He killed 3 characters and a full size fortis team. I was going to bring some of my own as counter punch and I saw the warcom article on the emperors spears. Their tactic is +1 advance and charge and exploding 6s in melee. Has anyone thought about this yet? I’m not planning my whole army around this but might be worth a shot for clearing my marine opponents out of the mid board together with my Salamander slash Capt.

I would say the Slash captain generally is a very tough assassination unit. With templars and SW you really don't want to send him to squads without. He can square off 1v1 and punch well above his points cost but he does have limits.
Getting trapped by blade guards? You could fallback or if trapped use break out and swap to Ultras tactics then shoot them.
The Pleasure God's Chosen

Emperor's Children (RIP) 2500 pts
Death Guard 3500 pts
Iron Warriors 3000 pts
Enslaved Traitor Guardsmen 1500 pts
Daemons 4000 pts
Salamanders 3000 pts
Necrons 2000 pts

#11
bortbortbort

bortbortbort

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 25 posts

You can select one chapter tactic (e.g. Blood Angels) or successor tactic (e.g. exploding 6s in melee), but can't mix and match 2 successor tactics.
So you have the option to get exactly the successor tactic you want, but in general the chapter tactics will give you more bang for your CP buck.

dont sleep on the 3 GW successor chapters they put out recently. Since they have white dwarf supplements if you choose those chapters you get both

I'm pretty sure you are restricted to tactics from the SM codex and cannot use those from other publications (e.g. white dwarf)
  • Mobius0288 likes this




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users