How to deal with Mortarion?

Greetings all,

I have noticed that Mortarion has created quite a stir in the Space Marine forum and they are proceeding to gather their mightiest warriors to say the vile foe. A friend of mine has a respectable-sized Death Guard army with Mortarion at the helm. I haven't encountered them on the battlefield yet but with their recent codex the plague Primarch sounds pretty formidable. Has anyone started to start working on battleplans to counter him yet? I was wondering if the Fusilave stratagem Electro-Filament Countermeasures would help shut his auras down for a turn? 

I am unsure what kind of weapon combinations would work. Would it still just be a case of loading up on Phosphor Kastellans and Wrath of Mars or are there other combinations that would appear more effective? I am relatively new to fielding my army so I'm not sure what tactics to employ. Would Icarus Dunecrawlers do damage through sheer weight of fire or would Ferrumite Skorpius be more helpful? 

I'd like a decent blob of Fulgurite Electro Priests for mortal wound spam but I expect Mortarion would just mulch them before they could gain their 3+ invulnerable.

I personally built my army just to pick some units I thought looked cool so I haven't loaded up on any particular models yet, apart from having an autocannon Ironstrider and two Dragoons for causing mischief. I'm looking to expand those elements to my army but let's face it, I'm potentially looking to expand everything in my army. :teehee:

Greetings all,

I am unsure what kind of weapon combinations would work. Would it still just be a case of loading up on Phosphor Kastellans and Wrath of Mars or are there other combinations that would appear more effective?

This would be my go to. In fact with disgustingly resilient being a reduction in damage now, I think it’s even better. Mars Admech may be one of the best counters to Mortarion and Magnus.

Edited by brother_b