Jump to content

Welcome to The Bolter and Chainsword
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

Premorphic Resonance Query


  • Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1
PhilB

PhilB

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 200 posts
  • Faction: Deathwatch
Hey Everyone,

Wondering if you can set this one straight for me;
One part of the DW psychic power Premorphic Resonance notes “if the unit starts the fight phase within engagement range of enemy models, it can fight first that phase”.

To me, it implies that this unit fights first, before anything including units that charged.

However the rare rules section of the core rule book outlines that the players alternate ‘fights first’ units starting with the active players turn and in the example above, a charging unit ‘fights first’.

Therefore, is it correct that if the enemy unit that charged the DW unit with this psychic blessing on it is activated first (following a charge) then the DW unit cannot fight beforehand?

Every time I see this power come up in battle reports on YouTube they seem to have a different view on how these interactions work.

Thanks all!

#2
TheSauce

TheSauce

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 194 posts
Therefore, is it correct that if the enemy unit that charged the DW unit with this psychic blessing on it is activated first (following a charge) then the DW unit cannot fight beforehand?

 

 

Yes, I think that reading is correct.

 

On your opponents turn, they charge your unit with Premorphic Resonance.

 

You then get into the "rare rules section" where you both have units that should fight first - them because of charging and you because of Premorphic Resonance.

 

Because it is their turn, they choose the first unit to fight, then you choose.

 

Obviously this doesn't seem that useful, but it does matter if the opponent charges with more than one unit on their turn. In that case, you still get to fight second, after their first charger but before any subsequent chargers.

 

This gets more complicated when there are multiple fight first/last interactions, which might be why you see different outcomes in battle reports.



#3
Debauchery101

Debauchery101

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 1,496 posts
Simply put, fights first units always alternate 1 by 1 starting with unit from current players turn.

Only abilities to alter that are ones that make fight last or turn off your 'charged' status
The Pleasure God's Chosen

Emperor's Children (RIP) 2500 pts
Death Guard 3500 pts
Iron Warriors 3000 pts
Enslaved Traitor Guardsmen 1500 pts
Daemons 4000 pts
Salamanders 3000 pts
Necrons 2000 pts

#4
PhilB

PhilB

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 200 posts
  • Faction: Deathwatch
Makes sense. Thanks!




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users