Request for assistance

Brother Ramael

So, I have a friend who, having played in the past Mordheim and Space Hulk and being playing now Space Hulk Deathwing ( the videogame), is starting to manifest interest in the lore of 40k and is asking me about what to read about it.

Since I desire his financial ruin, I am thinking to reeling him in into the hobby.

The problem is, I am new to the Black Library myself, so I'd need suggestion for a book that is both well written and does a good job at introducing the setting ( I was thinking at the HH series but as I said my knowledge about the Black Library is minimal).

Thanks all!

Edited by Brother Ramael

"Since I desire his financial ruin, I am thinking to reeling him in into the hobby."

Hahahahahaah.

I don't know that this is the best place to jump in but when you are interested in the Horus Heresy this is a help link to what to read and what order.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Horus_Heresy

Eisenhorn. Start with Eisenhorn.

Apart from that, I'd advise against the Heresy, and instead go with faction-trilogies that have been Omnibus'd instead, depending on what factions you're interested in. That, or Warhammer Crime if you want the domestic side of things.

If you want a generally fresh start into the current post-8th edition setting, The Emperor's Legion: Watchers of the Throne, Vaults of Terra: The Carrion Throne and then the currently running Dawn of Fire series, peaking in the soon to be re-released (and revised) Dark Imperium should do the trick.

Since I desire his financial ruin, I am thinking to reeling him in into the hobby.

The problem is, I am new to the Black Library myself, so I'd need suggestion for a book that is both well written and does a good job at introducing the setting ( I was thinking at the HH series but as I said my knowledge about the Black Library is minimal).

:biggrin.: