Jump to content

Welcome to The Bolter and Chainsword
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

Death Guard FAQ - 22nd February, 2021

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
26 replies to this topic

#1
Joe

Joe

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 2,985 posts
  • Location:United Kingdom

The new Death Guard FAQ is up on Warhammer Community and it's a fairly short one - of note, they've removed the 'Lord of the Death Guard' keyword from the Demon Prince.


mkbKIlr.png


#2
Marshal Loss

Marshal Loss

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 5,135 posts
  • Location:New York
  • Faction: Emperor's Children

Inexorable Advance doesn't apply to Difficult Ground. That's a significant blow to IA's usefulness


bRxSYDV.png

Emperor's Children 22ᶮᵈ Millennial

Sons of Horus 29th Company

Death Guard Warband: The Fourth Seal


#3
Azekai

Azekai

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 2,089 posts
  • Location:Texas
  • Faction: Warp Locusts, Traitor Guard

So does this mean you can include one or two DPs in a detachment now? Or just 1 DP and 1 lord?


Corruption is our armor. Infection is our weapon. Immortality is our reward.
 

gallery_48988_13169_3872.pngETL_VI_Badge_Forum_Champion_Chaos_LATD.jCall_of_Chaos_11_Banner_01e.jpggallery_30308_9518_1272.jpggallery_30308_9518_1551.pnggallery_63428_7083_8312.png3DrnTQ5.png

#4
McElMcNinja

McElMcNinja

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 608 posts
  • Location:Kansas City, MO
  • Faction: Death Guard
Inexorable Advance: The Death Guard trudge towards the enemy at a relentless pace, unless they are on a battlefield, then they move like everything else.

You can still only include 1 DP per detachment, from the way I read it.

#5
Azekai

Azekai

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 2,089 posts
  • Location:Texas
  • Faction: Warp Locusts, Traitor Guard

Inexorable Advance: The Death Guard trudge towards the enemy at a relentless pace, unless they are on a battlefield, then they move like everything else.

You can still only include 1 DP per detachment, from the way I read it.

Gotcha. No change due to the 1 DP limit and Infernal Jealousy, but you can include a lord or Typhus.

Meh.


Edited by Azekai, 22 February 2021 - 05:19 PM.

Corruption is our armor. Infection is our weapon. Immortality is our reward.
 

gallery_48988_13169_3872.pngETL_VI_Badge_Forum_Champion_Chaos_LATD.jCall_of_Chaos_11_Banner_01e.jpggallery_30308_9518_1272.jpggallery_30308_9518_1551.pnggallery_63428_7083_8312.png3DrnTQ5.png

#6
Bulwyf

Bulwyf

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 1,613 posts
  • Location:Barbarus
  • Faction: Death Guard

I love this change. We can at least now take 1 DP with a lord now. I'm not stuck with a Plaguecaster in a HQ slot as mandatory choice.


40kDGBanner

 


#7
jgascoine011

jgascoine011

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 407 posts
Well the change for daemon princes was obvious as the rule made no sense.
The change to IA means that IA is literally garbage 😂

#8
Marshal Loss

Marshal Loss

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 5,135 posts
  • Location:New York
  • Faction: Emperor's Children

Surprised (but not at all complaining) that the Tallyman wasn't changed. I expected them to modify the wording to only trigger in our command phase


bRxSYDV.png

Emperor's Children 22ᶮᵈ Millennial

Sons of Horus 29th Company

Death Guard Warband: The Fourth Seal


#9
Heretic

Heretic

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 13 posts

Ridiculous. 



#10
infyrana

infyrana

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 1,740 posts
  • Location:UK

Inexorable Advance: The Death Guard trudge towards the enemy at a relentless pace, unless they are on a battlefield, then they move like everything else.

Made me laugh and think of the game title 'Pointless'  :)


gallery_51316_15965_6348.pnggallery_51316_15965_21147.png


 

#11
Azekai

Azekai

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 2,089 posts
  • Location:Texas
  • Faction: Warp Locusts, Traitor Guard

Does this make souping more viable? As one of the main bailiwicks of our faction seems to be non-functional (or at least contentious to the point of being worthless).


Corruption is our armor. Infection is our weapon. Immortality is our reward.
 

gallery_48988_13169_3872.pngETL_VI_Badge_Forum_Champion_Chaos_LATD.jCall_of_Chaos_11_Banner_01e.jpggallery_30308_9518_1272.jpggallery_30308_9518_1551.pnggallery_63428_7083_8312.png3DrnTQ5.png

#12
Marshal Loss

Marshal Loss

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 5,135 posts
  • Location:New York
  • Faction: Emperor's Children

Does this make souping more viable? As one of the main bailiwicks of our faction seems to be non-functional (or at least contentious to the point of being worthless).

Nah. IA wasn't what was dissuading soup to begin with.


bRxSYDV.png

Emperor's Children 22ᶮᵈ Millennial

Sons of Horus 29th Company

Death Guard Warband: The Fourth Seal


#13
Putrid Choir

Putrid Choir

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 800 posts
I was hoping they would let the legion trait affect every unit in the codex and not just "bubonic astartes". So friggin' stupid. And now they clarified how crappy the movement part of our trait is.
  • Bulwyf, Plaguecaster and Iron Sage like this

#14
Tokugawa

Tokugawa

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 564 posts
  • Location:Beijing,China
  • Faction: Black Templars
With or without the change, I prefer to bring a LoC than a DP now.

#15
Verbal Underbelly

Verbal Underbelly

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 293 posts
  • Location:West Yorkshire

Could someone tell me where Inexorable Advance now applies if it does not apply to Difficult Ground?

 

I can't think of anything...



#16
Tokugawa

Tokugawa

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 564 posts
  • Location:Beijing,China
  • Faction: Black Templars

Could someone tell me where Inexorable Advance now applies if it does not apply to Difficult Ground?

I can't think of anything...

At least you should remember "the Droning" lol

#17
jgascoine011

jgascoine011

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 407 posts

Could someone tell me where Inexorable Advance now applies if it does not apply to Difficult Ground?

I can't think of anything...


Certain strats such as the custodies “reduce charge by D6” etc

#18
Dark Legionnare

Dark Legionnare

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 393 posts

 

Could someone tell me where Inexorable Advance now applies if it does not apply to Difficult Ground?

I can't think of anything...


Certain strats such as the custodies “reduce charge by D6” etc

 

Which, thanks to lack of GW's ability to ever get any sort of terminology standardization or technical writing in place, people have been RAW arguing since codex release that Tanglefoot is not ignored by IA, since it reduces "charge distance", not the "charge roll"; IA protecting the "charge roll" from being modified. Oi vey.

I'm of the mindset to say "That's just RAW for advantage, and should be ignored, it totally makes them immune to Tanglefoot". I'm sure we'll see even more fun with that too now that GW gave even more "RAW is law" incentive by saying IA doesn't protect against difficult terrain -2.


Edited by Dark Legionnare, 23 February 2021 - 02:13 PM.

9th Ed. "Star Phantoms" (SM, Primaris Units Only) - Record: W|1 D|0 L|0

9th Ed. "The Inexorable Demise" (DG) - Record: W|4 D|0 L|0
9th Ed. "The Dark Legion" (DKoK) - Record: W|1 D|0 L|0

9th Ed. "Adeptus Custodes" - Record: W|1 D|0 L|0
9th Ed. "Orkz" (Warboss Metul-'ead's Waaagh!) - Record: W|2 D|0 L|0

9th Ed. "Vlka Fenryka" (SM) - Record: W|2 D|0 L|0
9th Ed. "Crimson Fists" (SM, First-born Only) - Record: W|1 D|0 L|0

9th Ed. "Farsight Forward Scouting Force" (Farsight Enclaves, Tau) - Record: W|1 D|1 L|0

9th Ed. "Luna Wolves" - Record: W|0 D|0 L|0 (WIP, force mustering)  

30k.     "Luna Wolves" - Record: W|0 D|0 L|0 (WIP, force mustering)


#19
Reskin

Reskin

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 457 posts
  • Location:Aboard a Battle Barge

I think it's in anticipation for other factions with stratagems and psychic powers or abilities that affect the MS characteristic of a units profile.


Edited by Reskin, 23 February 2021 - 02:20 PM.

Z4m877V.jpg


#20
BloatyMcBloatFace

BloatyMcBloatFace

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 1 posts
Hi guys, am I alone in thinking that as the rule also states that you ignore penalties to advance and charge rolls that these are unaffected by terrain? "It can ignore any or all modifiers to it's Move characteristic, Advance rolls and charge rolls."

Edited by BloatyMcBloatFace, 23 February 2021 - 02:22 PM.


#21
Heretic

Heretic

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 13 posts

 

Certain strats such as the custodies “reduce charge by D6” etc

 

 

This strat reducing charge distance. DG can ignore only charge roll modifiers.  



#22
Azekai

Azekai

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 2,089 posts
  • Location:Texas
  • Faction: Warp Locusts, Traitor Guard

 

 

Certain strats such as the custodies “reduce charge by D6” etc

 

 

This strat reducing charge distance. DG can ignore only charge roll modifiers.  

 

Feels like an absolutely arbitrary distinction. The d6 roll then applies a negative modifier equal to whatever is rolled.


Corruption is our armor. Infection is our weapon. Immortality is our reward.
 

gallery_48988_13169_3872.pngETL_VI_Badge_Forum_Champion_Chaos_LATD.jCall_of_Chaos_11_Banner_01e.jpggallery_30308_9518_1272.jpggallery_30308_9518_1551.pnggallery_63428_7083_8312.png3DrnTQ5.png

#23
Emicus

Emicus

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 1,689 posts
  • Location:Kristiansand, Norway



Certain strats such as the custodies “reduce charge by D6” etc


This strat reducing charge distance. DG can ignore only charge roll modifiers.
Feels like an absolutely arbitrary distinction. The d6 roll then applies a negative modifier equal to whatever is rolled.

Like the arbitrary distinction presented in the FAQ?
It's not the characteristic it's the move the characteristic makes, which therefore isn't itself.

'Ignore movement modifiers' somehow doesn't ignore modifiers to distance moved

#24
Azekai

Azekai

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 2,089 posts
  • Location:Texas
  • Faction: Warp Locusts, Traitor Guard

 

 

 

Certain strats such as the custodies “reduce charge by D6” etc


This strat reducing charge distance. DG can ignore only charge roll modifiers.
Feels like an absolutely arbitrary distinction. The d6 roll then applies a negative modifier equal to whatever is rolled.

Like the arbitrary distinction presented in the FAQ?
It's not the characteristic it's the move the characteristic makes, which therefore isn't itself.

'Ignore movement modifiers' somehow doesn't ignore modifiers to distance moved

 

Oh, I totally agree with you. The powers that be at GW seem to want DG to be affected by terrain, but that seems like the most obvious application of Inexorable Advance.

The FAQ is illogical and makes a mockery of the idea of reading Rules as Written.
'Modifiers to distance moved' is ipso facto a movement modifier.


Corruption is our armor. Infection is our weapon. Immortality is our reward.
 

gallery_48988_13169_3872.pngETL_VI_Badge_Forum_Champion_Chaos_LATD.jCall_of_Chaos_11_Banner_01e.jpggallery_30308_9518_1272.jpggallery_30308_9518_1551.pnggallery_63428_7083_8312.png3DrnTQ5.png

#25
McElMcNinja

McElMcNinja

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 608 posts
  • Location:Kansas City, MO
  • Faction: Death Guard
It seems they don’t want movement modifiers to affect DG unless there are movement modifiers, in which case they affect DG. Clear as mud!?!
  • Plaguecaster and Iron Sage like this




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users