Jump to content

Welcome to The Bolter and Chainsword
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

Attacks vs Hits


  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1
Valkyrion

Valkyrion

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 1,567 posts
Each time the bearer fights, it can make one (and only one) attack with this weapon. Make D3 hit rolls for this attack instead of one. This is in addition to the bearer’s attacks.

 

 

Tyranid thresher scythe.

 

You can re-roll hit rolls of 1 for this weapon. If the bearer has more than one pair of monstrous scything talons, it can make 1 additional attack with this weapon each time it fights.

 

 

Scything talons. Emphasis mine on both.

 

Thresher scythe reads to me that you make D3 rolls to hit, but if any hit then you score one (1) hit, so you have an increased chance of hitting once.

Why would it not say 'Each time the bearer fights, it can make D3 attacks with this weapon. This is in addition to the bearer's attacks.'

 

Weapons that give you additional attacks say so and make no mention of hit rolls.

 

Am I wrong? I think I'm wrong but it's worded oddly, IMO.


  • XeonDragon likes this

#2
Marshal Loss

Marshal Loss

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 5,294 posts
  • Location:New York
  • Faction: Emperor's Children

It's not an increased chance of hitting once; it effectively turns each attack into D3 potential hits, each of which will in turn roll to wound, etc. Similar wording is present on the DG FBD's Fleshmower and the SoB Penitent Flails on the Mortifiers/Penitents for example (Make [x] hit rolls for this weapon instead of one).


Edited by Marshal Loss, 10 March 2021 - 12:06 AM.

bRxSYDV.png


#3
Rik Lightstar

Rik Lightstar

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 1,364 posts
  • Location:Stevenage
  • Faction: Astral Claws, Mantis Warriors

It leaves it open for abilities that reduce or increase your number of attacks to affect one but not the other.

 

Rik


The Codex Astartes: Taking Away The Freedom Of The Astartes To Pigeonhole Themselves, 
And Restricting Them To Supreme Flexibility Since M31
.


#4
Valkyrion

Valkyrion

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 1,567 posts

So, if there was a rule that said 'pick one of your opponents weapons. reduce the number of attacks made by that weapon by 1', and the opponent picked the Scythe tail then it couldn't be used as it stands now, because you only make 1 attack but roll D3 times. 

But if it said 'make D3 attacks' then it could deal 0, 1 or 2 attacks.

 

Or if a rule says something like 'the first attack made by this weapon gets +1 to hit' - that would apply to all D3 thresher scythe hits, because it is just 1 attack, right?

 

I get it. I couldn't see why 1 attack with D3 hits was a different thing than D3 attacks with 1 hit, but I guess it is!



#5
Claws and Effect

Claws and Effect

    ++ ANGARUS ARANEA ++

  • ++ MODERATI ++
  • 3,449 posts
  • Location:The Ravenspire (AKA Iowa)
  • Faction: Raven Guard and DIY WIP
1 attack with multiple potential hits is typically used to represent something that can hit multiple targets with a single swing.

Swing it once and hit 1-3 guys with it, etc.

Edited by Claws and Effect, 03 April 2021 - 04:34 PM.


#6
Acebaur

Acebaur

    ++ VENATORIS MALUM ++

  • ++ MODERATI ++
  • 7,734 posts
  • Location:Atlanta, GA
  • Faction: Black Templars

 

Each time the bearer fights, it can make one (and only one) attack with this weapon. Make D3 hit rolls for this attack instead of one. This is in addition to the bearer’s attacks.

 

 

Tyranid thresher scythe.

 

You can re-roll hit rolls of 1 for this weapon. If the bearer has more than one pair of monstrous scything talons, it can make 1 additional attack with this weapon each time it fights.

 

 

Scything talons. Emphasis mine on both.

 

Thresher scythe reads to me that you make D3 rolls to hit, but if any hit then you score one (1) hit, so you have an increased chance of hitting once.

Why would it not say 'Each time the bearer fights, it can make D3 attacks with this weapon. This is in addition to the bearer's attacks.'

 

Weapons that give you additional attacks say so and make no mention of hit rolls.

 

Am I wrong? I think I'm wrong but it's worded oddly, IMO.

 

 

It's worded that way because you take the number of attacks on the model's profile and for each one that you use with that weapon roll a D3 and make that many hit rolls. So if you have 4 attacks then the number of hit rolls you make is 4D3. The wording on the scything talons is because you will always make 1 aditional attack with that weapon regardless of what other weapons you have or fight with. So lets say you have both of these weapons and you swing all 4 of your attacks with the Thresher, you make 4D3 attacks with that and 1 with the talons. 

 

Does that clear it up?


  • Black Blow Fly likes this
"There can be no meeting of minds and no understanding with such beings as exist in the dark places of the galaxy.There is simply a choice: defeat them, or be defeated by them. And Defeat them we will"
- Chaplain Emmerich





++++ The Jericho Crusade ++++
Posted ImagePosted ImagePosted ImagePosted ImagePosted ImagePosted Image

"Let our feet, steel clad, pressed into the soils of this alien land, remark on our passing. What need have we of plaudit and praise? No matter the laurel of victory, no matter the glories others may seek.
We are the Black Templars. Victory is it's own reward."
- High Marshal Helbrecht


#7
Dam13n

Dam13n

    ++ CÆLATOR ALTRICES ++

  • ++ MODERATI ++
  • 2,482 posts
  • Location:Poole, UK
  • Faction: The Scions
Following up on that, given the example you just used:

As you can only make a maximum of 1 attack with the Thresher, you cannot generate those 4d3+1 hit rolls.

Instead it would be 1d3 Thresher hit rolls plus 4 (3+1) hit rolls from the Scything Talon(s).

#8
Spinsanity

Spinsanity

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 900 posts
  • Location:Canadia
While it's not really applicable here, it's the only example I can come up with that has this kind of wording so I figure it's a good way to highlight the difference.

Assuming a rule or stratagem gave access to something similar to the Salamander's chapter tactic that lets them re-roll one wound roll when making an attack; if that attack resulted in 3 hits, only one of those 3 wound rolls could be re-rolled, instead of all 3 if it were 3 separate attacks...

Edited by Spinsanity, Yesterday, 06:54 PM.


#9
Dam13n

Dam13n

    ++ CÆLATOR ALTRICES ++

  • ++ MODERATI ++
  • 2,482 posts
  • Location:Poole, UK
  • Faction: The Scions
It would depend on the wording of the stratagem.

If it was worded something like: "Until the end of the phase, this model/unit may re-roll a single wound roll per attack", then you would be correct.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users