Jump to content

Welcome to The Bolter and Chainsword
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

DA Stormwing - Can troops arrive turn 1 from outflank?


  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1
Friday

Friday

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 14 posts

Stormwing allows orders to be issues to squads with a Praetor or Centurion in them.

 

One of these orders is Field Reserves. RAI or RAW do troops with a Praetor/Centurion get to come onto the board on turn 1 if they pass their order test? What do ya'll think? I'm not trying to game the system I'm just not sure what is intended here.

 

Is the Model rule publication trumping the rulebook by the inclusion of "...regardless of the current turn number." ?

 

Latest FAQ

Screenshot_20210328-185931_Samsung_Notes

 

However it is well known reserves cannot be rolled for until turn 2

unknown.png

 

But Pg 20 of the Rulebook sets this precedent.

unknown.png


Edited by Friday, 29 March 2021 - 12:02 AM.


#2
The Observer

The Observer

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 1,440 posts
  • Location:Basel, Switzerland
  • Faction: The Legions of Yore

Personally, I'd say that the troops in question cannot arrive from reserves on T1 because the rule Field Reserves explicitly says that the unit "automatically passes its Reserves test" - which to me sounds like it has to adhere to regular reserve rules because a Reserve Roll is still happening, its just treated as an autopass, and as the Reserve rule specifies, a Reserve Roll can only be undertaken from T2 onwards. Can't autopass on something you can't do just yet - or that's at least my reading of it.


  • Brofist likes this
Instagram Handle: count.hodo

12.jpg


#3
ShadowCore67

ShadowCore67

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 396 posts
  • Location:Pennsylvania, US
I believe the intent was to be able to come in turn 1, but the wording leans more towards turn 2. Or else the "regardless of turn number" clause would be pretty pointless.

#4
The Scorpion

The Scorpion

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 218 posts

Don't try to make sense of Stormwing. It's the worst written RoW in the entire game.

My own guess is that it works like Maru Skara, where your reserves ignore rolls to arrive and get to the field when you order them, but still have to wait until turn 2.

 

This is the Sorm of War RoW we're talking about though.


Edited by The Scorpion, 31 March 2021 - 06:58 PM.

  • The Observer and WrathOfTheLion like this

#5
The Ironic Warrior

The Ironic Warrior

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 217 posts
  • Location:London
  • Faction: IV, XVI, Daemons, Necrons

The intention is arriving from reserves turn 1, but the RAW is 100% in the category of turn 2 onwards. As mentioned above, you aren't allowed to make a reserves test turn 1 so you can't auto-pass it turn 1, but yes as Scorpion said, don't try and understand anything the Dark Angels have...

They're a weird bag and occupy the position of being extremely overpowered and broken to the point of just not working at the same time. They're the Schrodinger's Legion of the Horus Heresy and it's comical how badly Forgeworld have worded their rules. 


Like me on my Facebook Page Ironic Warriors

Follow me on Instagram @Ironicwarriors
 


#6
RoadRunna

RoadRunna

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 78 posts

The intention is arriving from reserves turn 1, but the RAW is 100% in the category of turn 2 onwards. As mentioned above, you aren't allowed to make a reserves test turn 1 so you can't auto-pass it turn 1, but yes as Scorpion said, don't try and understand anything the Dark Angels have...

They're a weird bag and occupy the position of being extremely overpowered and broken to the point of just not working at the same time. They're the Schrodinger's Legion of the Horus Heresy and it's comical how badly Forgeworld have worded their rules. 

Thanks... just had to google Schrodinger's cat... didn't help



#7
SkimaskMohawk

SkimaskMohawk

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 5,169 posts
  • Location:Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
  • Faction: Raven Guard and VIII Legion
Well if we're going to be really technical on the writing, the turn number is only important that it grants access to the reserve roll (not test, but whatever let's say it's another furious "assault" scenario). The arrival of a unit is contingent on the outcome of the reserve roll but not the turn itself because of the structure. The order counts the roll as a success, and a success means a unit comes in.

#8
RoadRunna

RoadRunna

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 78 posts

I don't think you can bring in the Stormwing in on Turn 1 given you have yet to enact the "Reserves" part of the game but unlike Maru Skara where you have to nominate beforehand which turn your units arrive this lets you chose 'on the fly' to grant the player greater flexibility.

 

anyway just my 2cents






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users