Advice for getting started with or returning to painting

Hi all,

I'm going to apologise in advance if any of this comes across as condescending or too basic, but it's easy to miss fundamentals ESPECIALLY when you're coming back to something or really excited to push forward with it.

I think it's really important to view it in the same context as learning/relearning pretty much any skill. The key to success and progress with most skills is identifying the core techniques, prioritising them and getting them right through practice.

If anyone spots anything that they disagree with in any of these posts, then just say and I can add alternative opinions into each block.

I’m going to try to keep individual topics to a separate post each.

Rik

The first thing for me to cover really is the main question you're probably thinking of now you're here:

Who are you and why should I bother reading these brain dumps of yours about painting?

I’ve been painting on and off for over 30 years now. I've painted a pretty wide variety of miniatures from pretty much every GW setting if not quite every faction, as well as having recently started getting into painting display busts as practice for different techniques.

I’ve previously worked for GW in their retail side of things way back when an impressive display cabinet was seen as a requirement and offering both basic and advanced painting lessons was a standard thing to do.

I’d like to think I'm pretty competent and churning out above average gaming armies in a reasonable time frame and producing decent quality Characters to lead them.

I’m not going to be winning Golden Demon or Crystal Brush any time soon, but I’ve learned a lot of the lessons the hard way and I’d like to save some of you guys the pain of doing the same.

Followed by the next question:

What are you going to talk about?

I'm intending to keep it to "core principles and techniques" to start with.