librisrouge's Grey Knights

librisrouge

Figured it would be a good idea for me to start a WIP thread to motivate me to get some painting in. I enjoy painting but I'm slow about it and, while it helps me relax, I can't do it above a certain point of stress. I'm a teacher and it is the beginning of the school year. Stress is high. So, I need to get me some of that motivation.

Here is what my brotherhood is packing so far. An Ancient, Librarian, Chaplain, and a 5 man strike squad. I think I'll paint some more strike marines next, in order to get some heavy weapons into the squad that look nice.

med_gallery_53428_16726_1004960.jpgmed_gallery_53428_16726_256260.jpegmed_gallery_53428_16726_1792608.jpegmed_gallery_53428_16726_63538.jpg

I got a game in this weekend with the new codex. It was against my 10 year old son but I gave the kiddo a 500 point lead (1500ish vs 2000ish) as I'm trying to teach him the game and was kinda hoping to lose. I did want to try out a few things and have a couple of observations about them.

Pros-

• I'm in love with the Nuke Librarian (Purifying Flamer and Vortex of Doom with the Sigil of Exigence and Psychic Epitome). He's relatively cheap but can really put out the hurt with a few CPs. I'd hate to face him with no Deny the Witch in my army. On turn 1, I Gated him forward and he nuked a vindicator off the table. He was shot at the next turn, teleported to safety. Two turns later, he was Gated to some land speeders who were giving me trouble and nuked both of them off the table. By then, he was out of serious shooting and I just walked the rest of the game. This guy will be in every list.
  • Crow is a great budget beat stick. He isn't amazing but he is certainly worth his points. Since that has literally never been true, I'm glad to see the improvement.