Methods for painting Grey Knights ....

Helias_Tancred

Hi all. I just recently had a friend give me a lump of Grey Knights, which came out to two 5 man strike squads, a 5 man purgation squad (psycannons), two 5 man terminator squads, an OOP resin Librarian in terminator armor, old OOP version of Crowe, a Nemesis Dreadknight, and a Stormraven. I added to that a strike squad box, codex, cards, dice, a second Librarian in terminator armor (plastic one), Brother-Captain Stern, and I'm waiting for Draigo and the paladin box to come back in stock. 

So now I own a Grey Knights army (regular Blood Angels player and been in the hobby since 2012). I'm excited to paint them, but I'm brand new to them. I'm thinking maybe a chaos black spray base, then dry brush several layers of silver for the armor, then go in and do the details? .... or spray them chaos black, then spray them leadbelcher, then shade and then layer/edge up the silver armor highlights, then do the details? Or has anyone tried the contrast method for them?

Thanks. 

I'd skip the black primer, and go straight to Lead Belcher Spray, then I'd heavy dry brush with Grey Knights Steel. I'd then wash with Nuln Oil and come back with Grey Knights Steel for the first broad highlight before working up through the silvers.

You know what? I've got my freebie from this month, I'll be back in a hour....

I've got a few to do a well :)

My personal experience from doing Imperial knights is I won't use leadbelcher spray on an unprimed model and I probably wouldn't use it on an infantry size model, but your local environmental conditions may be different.

I'm looking at Chaos black primer, then heavy dry brush leadbelcher, wash (I was thinking Nuln but Icosiel's painting vid has me considering purple) and a final lighter drybrush of Grey Knighs steel.