Jump to content

Welcome to The Bolter and Chainsword
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

Cult Ambush and Open War Interaction


  • Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1
Rogue

Rogue

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 1,073 posts
  • Location:Crediton
  • Faction: Red Brotherhood and Gorgons

i'm just about to play an open war game with a deployment map where the two deployment zones meet at a point in the middle. Opposing units could potentially be set up within inches of each other.

 

The rules for Cult Ambush markers (blips) is that an enemy unit cannot be set up or move within 9" of a blip. Usually, this only applies to infiltrating units, and is a nice clear rule. But the proximity of the deployment zones presents a potential issue. If my opponent deploys a unit right at the tip of his zone, there's nothing to stop me putting down a blip a couple of inches away in my zone (nothing in the blip rules prohibits where they can be placed within your deployment zone). 

 

But then what happens if he gets first turn? He can't set up or move within 9" of the blip, but is already only 3" away without breaking either of those conditions. Does he have to stay still, move away to at least 9", move freely (because he's already within 9", so isn't crossing any invisible lines), spontaneously combust and be removed from play, or something else entirely?

 

If anyone has an answer they can share in the next 45 minutes, that would be ideal. But if not, I'm still interested to know how you might resolve this particular blind spot in the rules (which, in fairness, totally weren't written with this scenario in mind).


gallery_48988_15094_792.png sml_gallery_48988_16821_17057.png sml_gallery_48988_16024_10350.png sml_gallery_48988_15094_13535.png ETL_Medal_02.gif gallery_48988_15465_5689.png ETL_2018_Medal_04_ETL_Magister.gif

 

I have a very small Cult / math-hammer blog here: https://redbrotherho...ixsite.com/cult


#2
Rogue

Rogue

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 1,073 posts
  • Location:Crediton
  • Faction: Red Brotherhood and Gorgons
In the end, I was the defender, stuck my first blip as far forward as I could, and the situation I described never arose.

Pre-game, we decided that if it had, his unit could have acted without restriction. If I choose to place a blip that close, I gain a huge advantage if I go first, so it seems fair that I also risk a potential disadvantage by going second and having the enemy right on my toes (should he want to do that - in practice, he deployed as far back as he could...)

gallery_48988_15094_792.png sml_gallery_48988_16821_17057.png sml_gallery_48988_16024_10350.png sml_gallery_48988_15094_13535.png ETL_Medal_02.gif gallery_48988_15465_5689.png ETL_2018_Medal_04_ETL_Magister.gif

 

I have a very small Cult / math-hammer blog here: https://redbrotherho...ixsite.com/cult


#3
Slasher956

Slasher956

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 1,789 posts
  • Location:The Kingdom of the East Saxons!
  • Faction: OoOML, Ulthw√©

I'd play it that you cant place your blip within 9" of a deployed unit.... but this is more spirt of the rule (no deployed units in a detection range) than any RAW approach.

 


Edited by Slasher956, 05 October 2021 - 10:45 AM.

Dyspraxic & Dyslexic  - So I might not write/explain what I think I have as clearly as intended to.... 

 

I'm confused... what side of the fence am I on???

 

happy.png





1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users