Jump to content

Welcome to The Bolter and Chainsword
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

Dreadnought and "moving"


  • Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1
MichaelCarmine

MichaelCarmine

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 79 posts
  • Location:Karlsruhe, Germany

Hello there!

 

I've got a question regarding the movement of a dreadnought.

 

In general, the dreadnougth is a Vehicle(Walker), but follows the movement-rules for infantry.

 

In case of a Contemptor Mortis Dread with a 45 degree firing arc - if he wants to "activate" skyfire/interceptor, he cannot move.

 

For a vehicle, pivoting on the spot isn't moving, but he dos not move like a vehícle. He also is missing special rules for pivoting.

 

Since infantry doesn't have a rule for pivoting ('cause they have no firing arc and i could'nt find anything in the rulebook), does that mean, that a Dreadnoght pivoting on the Spot counts as moving? - i would say yes, but i do not know... 

 

Greetings,

Michael

 


Death Korps of Krieg
Horus Heresy: Raven Guard, Vlka Fenryka, Imperial Guard/Militia
Warhammer 40.000: Raven Guard, Space Wolves, Imperial Guard (Death Korps of Krieg & Tanith First and Only)
Anima Tactics: Wissenschaft, Empire, Azur Alliance, Church, Samael
 

 

 

 

 

 


#2
Slips

Slips

    ++ ARCHIMAGIRUS RUDIS ++

  • ++ MODERATI ++
  • 14,311 posts
  • Location:Montreal, Quebec, Canada
  • Faction: V,VII,IX,XII,XV Legions

Yes.

 

You would basically have to pre-aim your dreadnought in the direction you most likely expect the flyers to enter the board from is what this entails.


Posted ImagePosted Image Posted Image

++Part of the ship...Part of the Crew++

+] Use the Report Button! [+


#3
SkimaskMohawk

SkimaskMohawk

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 5,927 posts
  • Location:Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
  • Faction: Raven Guard and VIII Legion

There's an argument to be made on page 23 for Pivoting on the Spot

 

 

If you choose not to move a model in a unit, you can instead choose to turn it on the spot to face in any direction, provided that the pivot does not bring the model within 1" of an enemy model. A model that only pivots on the spot counts as being stationary for all purposes, including subsequent shooting attacks. 

 

Note the Helical Array states you have to remain stationary, not not move, so this would enable it.

 

The argument against this is that you can't choose not to move if you've been forced not to. But there's a potential counter that Immobilized specifically says no pivoting on the spot in addition to no moving.

Either way you're stuck in arc for intercept. 


  • Brofist and MichaelCarmine like this

vPwNQrt.gif


#4
MichaelCarmine

MichaelCarmine

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 79 posts
  • Location:Karlsruhe, Germany

There's an argument to be made on page 23 for Pivoting on the Spot

 

 

If you choose not to move a model in a unit, you can instead choose to turn it on the spot to face in any direction, provided that the pivot does not bring the model within 1" of an enemy model. A model that only pivots on the spot counts as being stationary for all purposes, including subsequent shooting attacks. 

 

Note the Helical Array states you have to remain stationary, not not move, so this would enable it.

 

The argument against this is that you can't choose not to move if you've been forced not to. But there's a potential counter that Immobilized specifically says no pivoting on the spot in addition to no moving.

Either way you're stuck in arc for intercept. 

You're right, thanks! Seems, i've overlooked that part! ^^'

 

Yeah i should have added, that i was only asking for the Skyfire-part, when the flyer is already on the table, but outside my Arc, sorry! =]


Death Korps of Krieg
Horus Heresy: Raven Guard, Vlka Fenryka, Imperial Guard/Militia
Warhammer 40.000: Raven Guard, Space Wolves, Imperial Guard (Death Korps of Krieg & Tanith First and Only)
Anima Tactics: Wissenschaft, Empire, Azur Alliance, Church, Samael
 

 

 

 

 

 





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users