Auto bolt rifle or bolt rifle

DAC

So I’m new to space marines and ultramarines…

Built up two 5 man squads of intercressors and stuck on the auto bolt rifle. I liked the 3 assault shots only problem the more I read the more I keep seeing that the standard bolt rifle is better for ultramarines. Rapid fire and the -1ap could come in handy and I believe we get a range of 36” too.

So I guess my question should I change them? Is it really that much better in most situations? Oh forgot to say, yes I glued the small cassette in the guns.

Auto bolt rifle- 24"-Assault 3-4-0-1

Bolt rifle- 30"-Rapid Fire 1-4- -1-1

For ultras, the standard is better than auto, but I don't think it's worth changing over at this point. The auto is still good, and I don't think I would ever be kicking myself over taking one over the other. Either one is good for maneuvering while maintaining fire, as well as thinning infantry out.

So I say don't sweat it, and if worst comes to worstz most opponents will be okay with proxying such a small detail.

I run a fairly troop-heavy, aggressive list- 2x 5-man autos, 1x 5-man regular bolt rifle, 2x 5-man assault intercessors. I run the autos and assault intercessors together to push up the field (with bladeguard behind them normally) while the regular bolt rifle squad stays back as a rear objective holder. The autos work well for what I use them for, I can Advance and fire with them and they provide a lot of distraction before the more specialized melee guys hit the enemy. Then the autos just stay on the midfield/enemy objectives to gain VPs. I will say that the autos aren't the most "killy" of the guns, but they are good chaff clearers and ok against SM- with the Ultras wanting to stay in Tactical Doctrine the autos just turn into regular bolt rifle AP stats for two rounds, which isn't bad at all.