Jump to content

Welcome to The Bolter and Chainsword
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

Methodical Firepower

Iron Hands stratagem

  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1
Black Blow Fly

Black Blow Fly

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 17,753 posts
  • Location:Unto realms immortal...
  • Faction: TODESKOMPANIE
This stratagem is performed at the start of the movement phase and it states ‘select a unit in your army…’. My question is can you select a unit in strategic reserve that will arrive that turn.

Edited by Black Blow Fly, 24 January 2022 - 11:51 PM.

=][= fortis Fortuna adiuvat . =][=

my 40k FB Page Terminus Est: https://m.facebook.com/Terminus6Est
Blood and Honor!

1-FA7273-E-07-F6-485-C-9725-0-B360-ABD23


#2
Xenith

Xenith

    ++ NETATOR FEROCIS ++

  • ++ MODERATI ++
  • 14,042 posts

I dont see why not. I believe some rules say specifically a model must be on the table to be affected, ergo rules that don't say that affect models that are not on the table.

 

Additionally, 'on deployment' rules like concealed positions and teleport strike are special rules tht affect models not on the table. You could also wisdom of the ancients a dread in a pod, then bring it in. 


  • Black Blow Fly likes this

gallery_58096_11725_17801.pnggallery_58096_14832_1433.gifgallery_58096_14832_1808.gifgallery_58096_11725_17950.pnggallery_29004_9303_844.pnggallery_58096_13272_607.pnggallery_48988_17207_10696.pnggallery_48988_17425_25905.png

Xenos XX\


#3
Dr_Ruminahui

Dr_Ruminahui

    ++ CONSULTUS OPERARI ++

  • ++ MODERATI ++
  • 2,010 posts
  • Location:Edmonton Hive
  • Faction: Emperor's 2nd cousins

I had thought that stratagems had a general rule that they could only be used on models on the table, which prevented units in transports from using them.   Don't have my rulebook with me, but I'll check it when I get home tonight.


  • Black Blow Fly likes this

#4
Black Blow Fly

Black Blow Fly

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 17,753 posts
  • Location:Unto realms immortal...
  • Faction: TODESKOMPANIE

Thanks for your help guys ! :thanks:


=][= fortis Fortuna adiuvat . =][=

my 40k FB Page Terminus Est: https://m.facebook.com/Terminus6Est
Blood and Honor!

1-FA7273-E-07-F6-485-C-9725-0-B360-ABD23


#5
Xenith

Xenith

    ++ NETATOR FEROCIS ++

  • ++ MODERATI ++
  • 14,042 posts

I had thought that stratagems had a general rule that they could only be used on models on the table, which prevented units in transports from using them.   Don't have my rulebook with me, but I'll check it when I get home tonight.

 

That would prevent the use of strats that allow you to deploy models in deepstrike or outside your DZ (thinking Webway infiltration and Risen Rubricae).

 

The transport rules specifically state that models in transports can't be affected by strats, however this is a rule for transports, and not a rule for stratagems, which strengthens the case for me to believe off-table units can be affected:

 

 

Units cannot normally do anything or be affected in any way while they are embarked. Unless specifically stated, other units’ abilities have no effect on units while they are embarked, and Stratagems cannot be used to affect units while they are embarked. 

 


Edited by Xenith, 26 January 2022 - 09:18 AM.

  • Black Blow Fly likes this

gallery_58096_11725_17801.pnggallery_58096_14832_1433.gifgallery_58096_14832_1808.gifgallery_58096_11725_17950.pnggallery_29004_9303_844.pnggallery_58096_13272_607.pnggallery_48988_17207_10696.pnggallery_48988_17425_25905.png

Xenos XX\


#6
Dr_Ruminahui

Dr_Ruminahui

    ++ CONSULTUS OPERARI ++

  • ++ MODERATI ++
  • 2,010 posts
  • Location:Edmonton Hive
  • Faction: Emperor's 2nd cousins

Yeah, I think the language I was remembering was that quoted by Xenith and as such you should be able to use the stratagem on unit that is not yet on the table (though, not if it is also in a transport).


  • Black Blow Fly likes this

#7
Xenith

Xenith

    ++ NETATOR FEROCIS ++

  • ++ MODERATI ++
  • 14,042 posts

So RAW/BRB you can do this, however in a tourney local TO's will have to make a call - in the FAQ for an event I'm maybe attending they specifically ruled against this, however there's no evidence for it. 


  • Black Blow Fly likes this

gallery_58096_11725_17801.pnggallery_58096_14832_1433.gifgallery_58096_14832_1808.gifgallery_58096_11725_17950.pnggallery_29004_9303_844.pnggallery_58096_13272_607.pnggallery_48988_17207_10696.pnggallery_48988_17425_25905.png

Xenos XX\





1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users