JJD's Dark Angels

JJD

Hello all. I am new to the site as you can see by my post count. I am also fairly new to the hobby. I have been painting for just under 2 years and have only played a couple of small games. My wife bought me the 5 ultramines starter painting kit for Xmas to help me find a new hobby to crack my warcraft addiction. Little did she know what she had started. Having had a go at a few ultramarines I got hold of DV. I thought I would share my progress. I am very much still learning and settling into my style. You'll notice various attempts at robes and power swords.

These are my first attempts from the DV box

gallery_74577_9223_939913.jpg

gallery_74577_9223_1332793.jpg

gallery_74577_9223_315833.jpg

ICs With something a bit bigger

gallery_74577_9223_1827468.jpg

Edited by JJD

I'm impressed, especially with the Deathwing Terminators it can be hard to make them not look like either Apocrathary Termies or Christmaswing, so great job with that.

I like the highlighting on the Tacticals, it's enough to be noticeable at a distance but not overblown.

Finally I think you did a good job with the flesh, that's always the thing that messes me up the most, I can just never seem to paint flesh without having it be super thick or so thin I have to paint on 12 coats, which of course leads it to being overly thick. Overall a great job.

Holy poopsicles batman just a few squads in and your models look this good? life really isnt fair sometimes... In all seriousness great look models brother! The Deathwing are exceptional. Keep up the good work, and dont forget to take a group shot of all your work once you have an army's worth of models.

• 5 weeks later...
I don't know how much time I will get for painting but I still have my 2nd set of deathwing and ravenwing from DV along side the left overs from my DWK and a RW upgrade spruce so I'm going to search for inspiration. Edited by JJD