The Singing Nails, a Legio XII Project Log

Guiltysparc

Hello B&C! I've never done a project log like this before but i've read a lot of them across various hobbies and have decided to give it a go.

I played Khorne heavy CSM in 40k and then KDK when that book came out. I really liked the portrayal of Khârn, and the World Eaters in general, in betrayer and when the calth box came out i knew it was only a matter of time before i started this project. So, welcome to my heresy era World Eaters WIP log.

I started out with one betrayal at calth box and heresy Khârn. Then came the FW legion bits!

gallery_92768_11638_66905.jpg
I decided to start with three tactical models as testers. It wasn't until after i had started highlights that i noticed the mold lines on the arms >_<...no big deal, the other 27 will be cleaned up a bit better. After a doing a bit of research on color scheme and wanting to replicate the dark blue in this pic...

a88e62bf5b346283a47cced5b5e79bfb

...i decided to go with a base coat of corax white spray, then wash with a water/nuln oil/glazing medium mix, followed up with white dry brush. I also wanted to try something different with my basing. I decided to go with a city streets/pavement slab theme using cork.
gallery_92768_11638_30784.jpg
gallery_92768_11638_5894.jpg
Here are comparison pics of the spray, wash, and dry brush progression.
gallery_92768_11638_47928.jpg

gallery_92768_11638_42577.jpg

Then i started working on the blue bits using the same paint stack as the GW guide starting with macragge blue.

gallery_92768_11638_19549.jpg

gallery_92768_11638_11557.jpg
Next up on the to do list is doing the FW shoulder and painting one of the knee plates blue. For the legion icon on the shoulder i am thinking about doing a silver planet and gold teeth but not 100% sure yet.
Anyway, i hope you guys enjoy reading this log as i add stuff to it!

Looking great so far!