Jump to content

Welcome to The Bolter and Chainsword
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

Red Terror number of attacks for scything talons


  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1
XeonDragon

XeonDragon

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 143 posts

Forgive me if this is total noob-ish question. So the red terror has 4 attacks. It has two pairs of scything talons. The data sheet says: If the bearer has more than one pair of scything talons, it can make 1 additional attack with this weapon each time it fights.

 

So, does that means the the weapon is a pair of scything talons and therefore it gets two extra attacks (i.e. one additional attack for each pair of talons)? 

 

TL;DR, does the Red Terror have:

 

  • 5 scything talons attacks + 1 prehensile pincer tail attack (total 6) or
  • 6 scything talons attacks + 1 prehensile pincer tail attack (total 7)?

Edit to add: sorry all, ignore this post, found the answer the in FAQ, the answer is 5+1 with the tail = 6 total. *sad tyranid noises*. 


Edited by XeonDragon, 12 March 2021 - 03:10 AM.


#2
WarriorFish

WarriorFish

    ++ PRÆFECT SOCIORUM ++

  • +++ADMINISTRATUM+++
  • 23,016 posts
  • Location:Blighty
  • Faction: Hunter Legion

Yes, the key here is "more than one pair". So you could have 20 pairs of talons but would still only get one additional attack :tu: I wouldn't worry, five attacks plus the tail is more than most units get ;)


  • XeonDragon likes this

gallery_48988_15465_8206.pnggallery_30308_9518_1551.pnggallery_30308_3239_3185.pnggallery_30308_9518_17558.pnggallery_30308_3239_193.pnggallery_30308_3239_17729.png
Painting Oaths Completed:
gallery_30308_3239_28.gifgallery_30308_3239_28.gifgallery_30308_3239_102.gifgallery_30308_3239_84.gifgallery_30308_3239_42.gifgallery_30308_3239_102.gifgallery_30308_3239_102.gifgallery_30308_3239_102.gifgallery_30308_3239_102.gifgallery_30308_3239_42.gifgallery_30308_3239_28.gifgallery_30308_3239_102.gifgallery_30308_3239_42.gifgallery_30308_3239_102.gifgallery_30308_3239_102.gif
gallery_30308_3239_42.gifgallery_30308_3239_102.gifgallery_30308_3239_42.gif
In the grim predictability of online 40k, there can be only Sun Tzu quotes

SM Ironclad | IG Stormies | =][= Stormies | AM Armigers

CSM Defiler | TSons Rubrics | Daemons Daemonettes

DE Warriors | Tyranids Genestealers


#3
XeonDragon

XeonDragon

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 143 posts

Yes, the key here is "more than one pair". So you could have 20 pairs of talons but would still only get one additional attack thumbsup.gif I wouldn't worry, five attacks plus the tail is more than most units get msn-wink.gif

 

Yes.... 5 is nice, but 6 would be even better :D



#4
Xenith

Xenith

    ++ NETATOR FEROCIS ++

  • ++ MODERATI ++
  • 12,520 posts

Yes, it's unfortunate, nids got the short end of the stick with this - after the Indexes dropped, talons and chainswords did the same thing, getting an extra attack, but for some readon GW ruled that multiple chainswords give multiple attacks, while multiple pairs of talons dont...odd.

 

You get the reroll 1's though, as I recall, which is almost an extra attack. 


  • XeonDragon likes this

#5
TheNewman

TheNewman

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 242 posts
Depending on when they wrote the ruling, Talons are consistent with how Lightning Claws worked. Chainsword just said "when the user fights, make one additional attack with this weapon" while the lighting claw said "if the model has two of this weapon, make an additional attack with this profile".

GW decided the wording of Talons was closer to Claws. They're wrong, but I can see how they got there.

Amusingly, as written in Marine Codex 2.0 a model had to be armed with exactly two lighting claws to get the extra attack so if a model were to somehow be armed with three (a character Techmarine for example) they would lose the benefit.

Edited by TheNewman, 16 March 2021 - 07:21 PM.

  • XeonDragon likes this




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users