Sylas's Sisters

Setting up this thread to be my WIP log. I am brand new to the hobby and am starting with a Sororitas army.

I just got my first box of minis today. It is a box of Battle Sisters and... they are so tiny. I knew they were miniatures, but wow. I am pretty intimidated at the moment. It will be an adventure for sure, but do y'all have any tips for a straight-up beginner?

I ordered paints based on Duncan's Citadel how to paint Order of Our Martyred Lady. I will be moving slowly to learn as I go. I don't really know the differences between the different Orders yet, so I hope I made the right choice.

Anyway, Sororitas is so dang cool. I can already tell that I want to go full Pokemon and collect them all. I will get some pictures up as I start to build here this weekend. Thank's for reading.

Not sure if this is good advice, but before the Sisters came out I bought some of the finecast crusaders and assassin's to test my paint scheme before going on to my gals. You could even find some 3rd party miniatures for cheap. Reaper Miniatures are pretty cheap, and they have some somewhat suitable angels and stuff.

As for the Orders, just pick one you like either aesthetically or lore wise. You could even come up with your own order, but the nice thing about canon factions is you might easier find paint guides. Martyred Lady is, unsurprisingly, all about sacrifice for the Emperor

I recommend not pigeonholing yourself into a specific order given that you have so little experience with the army.  

Give yourself the flexibility to try all of the orders out.  Especially as GW likes to make changes to the way armies play, just look at the shake up that marines get with every new book.

If you like the look of Martyred Lady, use their paint scheme as a jumping off point, and make something your own that is inspired by their color scheme.