Jump to content

Welcome to The Bolter and Chainsword
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

Corswain and DW Comps


  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1
Balerion84

Balerion84

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 101 posts

I'm starting with HH, we had our first game over the weekend - 1000pts ZM, DA vs WB - and I have a question that I can't find the answer to by googling.

Can I take Deathwing Companions with Corswain? The book says, they attach to a Praetor or Legion Special Character. BS says I can't take them. Doesn't Corswain count as Special Character? Is there a difference between special and unique? Like in real life, where you are unique, but not special? 



#2
m_r_parker

m_r_parker

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 2,440 posts

In short, yes you can take DW Companions with Corswain. He fulfils all the criteria for the DW Comps.


  • Helias Tancred, Brother-Captain Gilead, mooftak and 2 others like this
gallery_26271_12264_20095.jpg

#3
Calibanite Knight Angel

Calibanite Knight Angel

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 17 posts
  • Faction: Dark Angels Legion

Yeah this is something I ran into too. Corswain can take them (as per the book), it's most likely that whoever created his entry on Battlescribe simply missed it :) So feel free to take your Companions!



#4
Gorgoff

Gorgoff

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 2,392 posts
  • Location:Germany, Osnabrueck
  • Faction: IVth Legion
Stop using BS as a rulebook. Adding point cost for units and manage the different army slots is all you should do with this tool.
  • Brother Sutek, The_Bloody, SkimaskMohawk and 3 others like this
Bring back Psycho Dad!
gallery_48988_10980_12646.png

#5
Claws and Effect

Claws and Effect

    ++ ANGARUS ARANEA ++

  • ++ MODERATI ++
  • 3,482 posts
  • Location:The Ravenspire (AKA Iowa)
  • Faction: Raven Guard and DIY WIP

Stop using BS as a rulebook. Adding point cost for units and manage the different army slots is all you should do with this tool.


Going to second this statement.

I often use Battlescribe as a quick reference tool for rules, but I verify with the rulebook and FAQ that they have it correct before I do so.

If you don't have access to the book a given unit is found in you should definitely not trust that Battlescribe has it correct.

#6
Gorgoff

Gorgoff

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 2,392 posts
  • Location:Germany, Osnabrueck
  • Faction: IVth Legion

Stop using BS as a rulebook. Adding point cost for units and manage the different army slots is all you should do with this tool.

Going to second this statement.

I often use Battlescribe as a quick reference tool for rules, but I verify with the rulebook and FAQ that they have it correct before I do so.

If you don't have access to the book a given unit is found in you should definitely not trust that Battlescribe has it correct.
I do that as well. Stats in particular are almost always correct but if you have a more complicated case always look it up in the books.
Bring back Psycho Dad!
gallery_48988_10980_12646.png

#7
Balerion84

Balerion84

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 101 posts

Stop using BS as a rulebook. Adding point cost for units and manage the different army slots is all you should do with this tool.

Thanks for the tip mate, but I'm not using BS as a rulebook. Since I'm new to HH and trying to orient myself in the rules, this discrepancy confused me a bit as BS entries are added by people who probably have better understanding of them than someone new like me. The book states 'special character', which I assumed is a named character (duh), but couldn't find any definition in the rules of this term, of what actually a special character is. There's a definition of Independent Character but not Special. And since BS didn't allow it for Corwin but did for Praetors (which the book names too), it made me pause if I missed anything. Also the book entry for Corswain says 'Unique, character'. Hence the confusion regarding terms. So I just wanted to be sure.

Thanks for the confirmation everyone. :)

Edited by Balerion84, 25 June 2021 - 08:39 PM.

  • Gorgoff likes this

#8
Gorgoff

Gorgoff

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 2,392 posts
  • Location:Germany, Osnabrueck
  • Faction: IVth Legion

Stop using BS as a rulebook. Adding point cost for units and manage the different army slots is all you should do with this tool.

Thanks for the tip mate, but I'm not using BS as a rulebook. Since I'm new to HH and trying to orient myself in the rules, this discrepancy confused me a bit as BS entries are added by people who probably have better understanding of them than someone new like me. The book states 'special character', which I assumed is a named character (duh), but couldn't find any definition in the rules of this term, of what actually a special character is. There's a definition of Independent Character but not Special. And since BS didn't allow it for Corwin but did for Praetors (which the book names too), it made me pause if I missed anything. Also the book entry for Corswain says 'Unique, character'. Hence the confusion regarding terms. So I just wanted to be sure.

Thanks for the confirmation everyone. :)
Ah ok.
Yes, he can and yes he is a special character. As a rule of thumb: if it has a name it is a special character.
  • Balerion84 likes this
Bring back Psycho Dad!
gallery_48988_10980_12646.png




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users