Jump to content

Welcome to The Bolter and Chainsword
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

Question about auras generally


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1
XeonDragon

XeonDragon

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 203 posts

So, this has come up in a few league games recently.... auras. Say a chaplain recites a litany, there are 2 units in range. If he then zooms away, do they get the benefit of the litany? Conversely, if he recites a litany away from models, then zooms up and two units are now within the aura range, do they then get it?

 

Same applies for librarians and apothecaries, e.g. psychic fortress, cast it, give 5++ to models nearby, but if you move away from them, or models move inside the aura radius do they lose/get it?



#2
BluejayJunior

BluejayJunior

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 802 posts
  • Location:Atlanta, GA
  • Faction: Blood Angels

It depends on the litany. If it's marked as an aura, then it only affects units within the range of the chaplain. So if it moves after reciting the litany, it only affects units around its current location. If it isn't an aura, you pick a model/unit within the range of the chaplain when it's recited and then they gain that affect even if the chaplain then moves away. 

 

Auras create a zone of effect around the model, so you have to be in that zone of effect to gain the benefits. The aura moves with the model.


  • Black Blow Fly and XeonDragon like this

gallery_62972_10568_12006.jpggallery_48988_15465_18311.pnggallery_48988_15465_10130.png


#3
Lord Raven 19

Lord Raven 19

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 553 posts

Yes, an aura works moves with it's bearer. Think of it like a wifi access point, if you move away, or it is moved away from you, you lose access to the wifi. The psychic power and litany roll could be seen as (continuing the wifi analogy) turning the hotspot on and it automatically turning off after an hour (or a battle round). Does that help?


  • XeonDragon likes this

Lord Raven19

Lord of Deliverence; Scion of Albion; Baron of Camelot; Champion of Mortarion; Lord under Abaddon; Emissary of Szarekh.

Victorus aut Mortis


#4
XeonDragon

XeonDragon

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 203 posts

Thanks all, that was very helpful. Next time a mate of mine tries to cast psychic fortress on a blob of 7 aggressor and then moves, advances and charges them into me whilst the librarian moves to another location, I'll know the 5++ ain't happening anymore :D


  • Black Blow Fly and Karhedron like this

#5
Kallas

Kallas

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 1,400 posts
  • Location:Edinburgh, UK
  • Faction: Howling Griffons

Thanks all, that was very helpful. Next time a mate of mine tries to cast psychic fortress on a blob of 7 aggressor and then moves, advances and charges them into me whilst the librarian moves to another location, I'll know the 5++ ain't happening anymore biggrin.png

 

Yup, that's how Psychic Fortress works.

 

Just to be clear, it's worth noting that some Litanies/Psychic Powers are applied at the time of recitation of the litany (eg, Catechism of Fire)/manifestation of the power (eg, Might of Heroes), where the reciter/caster can move away and the initial units are affected (and new units nearby are not).


  • Lord Raven 19 and XeonDragon like this

#6
Xenith

Xenith

    ++ NETATOR FEROCIS ++

  • ++ MODERATI ++
  • 12,830 posts

Thanks all, that was very helpful. Next time a mate of mine tries to cast psychic fortress on a blob of 7 aggressor and then moves, advances and charges them into me whilst the librarian moves to another location, I'll know the 5++ ain't happening anymore biggrin.png

 

If he tried that, then he either hasn't read the rule or is cheating.  PsyFort gives models within 5" of the librarian a 5+ invuln. If a model isn't within 6" then no invuln.

 

How is a fortress supposed to protect you if you leave it?

 

Contrast this with powers like Shield of Sanguinius, which says "pick a unit within 18", that unit gains a 5+ invuln". That kind of rule sticks with the unit. 


  • Lord Raven 19 and XeonDragon like this

gallery_58096_11725_17801.pnggallery_58096_14832_1433.gifgallery_58096_14832_1808.gifgallery_58096_11725_17950.pnggallery_29004_9303_844.pngfriday-award.pnggallery_58096_13272_607.pnggallery_58096_13272_2704.jpg

Xenos XX\





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users