Jump to content

Welcome to The Bolter and Chainsword
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

Few questions regarding a drop pod and interceptor


43 replies to this topic

#1
Karsus

Karsus

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 63 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Seattle, USA
Hey, folks, could you guys help me with some rules please?

Suppose that my opponent is going first and dropping a pod with Leviathan. I have a Deredeo within range.

1) Can I choose to use helical array even though it's not my turn yet?
2) If I can shoot the Intercepter fire, will I still have to Snap Shot the Leviathan due to Skyfire on the array?
3) If I have a character with augery scanner joined on a Rapier squad, and said Leviathan dropped within the scanner range, can the Rapier shoot it?

#2
NoLifeKing

NoLifeKing

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 172 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Finland
  • Chapter Name: Word Bearers

Hey, folks, could you guys help me with some rules please?

Suppose that my opponent is going first and dropping a pod with Leviathan. I have a Deredeo within range.

1) Can I choose to use helical array even though it's not my turn yet?
2) If I can shoot the Intercepter fire, will I still have to Snap Shot the Leviathan due to Skyfire on the array?
3) If I have a character with augery scanner joined on a Rapier squad, and said Leviathan dropped within the scanner range, can the Rapier shoot it?

1) i don't think you can
2) Yes
3) Yes, in the enemy shooting phase.


nolifeking.png gallery_29004_9303_1654.pnggallery2900493031545.pnggallery_48988_13169_21191.pnggallery_29004_9303_5366.png


#3
Harrowmaster

Harrowmaster

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 330 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Chapter Name: Alpha Legion
1. Possibly, can't shoot next turn though
2. Yes
3. Yes as soon as it arrives

Edit: You need to be stationary to use the array so I would say most likely yes as long as you declared before units start coming in

Edited by Harrowmaster, 20 April 2017 - 12:51 PM.


#4
NoLifeKing

NoLifeKing

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 172 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Finland
  • Chapter Name: Word Bearers

3. Yes as soon as it arrives

False, augury scanner lets you shoot in the shooting phase, not "as soon as it arrives"


nolifeking.png gallery_29004_9303_1654.pnggallery2900493031545.pnggallery_48988_13169_21191.pnggallery_29004_9303_5366.png


#5
Harrowmaster

Harrowmaster

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 330 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Chapter Name: Alpha Legion

Missed that part, just read it as interceptor, wasn't it just interceptor in the older book?



#6
Slips

Slips

    ++ ARCHIMAGIRUS RUDIS ++

  • ++ MODERATI ++
  • 12,639 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Montreal, Quebec, Canada
  • Chapter Name: V,VII,IX,XII,XV Legions

Most people just play it as being Interceptor because it can get :cussy otherwise in certain situations.


  • Black Orange likes this

Posted ImagePosted Image Posted Image

++Part of the ship...Part of the Crew++

+] Use the Report Button! [+


#7
NoLifeKing

NoLifeKing

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 172 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Finland
  • Chapter Name: Word Bearers

Most people just play it as being Interceptor because it can get :cussy otherwise in certain situations.

In what situations exactly? 


nolifeking.png gallery_29004_9303_1654.pnggallery2900493031545.pnggallery_48988_13169_21191.pnggallery_29004_9303_5366.png


#8
Slips

Slips

    ++ ARCHIMAGIRUS RUDIS ++

  • ++ MODERATI ++
  • 12,639 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Montreal, Quebec, Canada
  • Chapter Name: V,VII,IX,XII,XV Legions

 

Most people just play it as being Interceptor because it can get :cussy otherwise in certain situations.

In what situations exactly? 

 

See this topic: http://www.bolterand...shooting-phase/

 

As the topic mentions, since it happens in your opponent's shooting phase and, during their turn, can decide the sequencing of simultaneously occurring actions as well as the Augury Scanner making no mention of when the interceptor-like attack can occur, then, played RaW, you could have a unit drop down right in front of the Augury Scanner unit, say a Combi-Plas Terminator Unit, move in to the shooting phase and sequence your terminators shooting attack to occur first, obliterate the Augury Scanner equipped unit and thus suffer no Pseudo-Interceptor fire. And, in this scenario, no other unit within the bubble would be able to attempt to intercept since the source granting this ability would no longer be in play by the time it came to them to perform said action.

 

This is an example amongst a few.

 

Another being that you could just Run/ Flat Out back out of the Augury Scanners bubble or move out of Line of Sight thus negating the Pseudo-Interceptor attack from even occurring.


Posted ImagePosted Image Posted Image

++Part of the ship...Part of the Crew++

+] Use the Report Button! [+


#9
NoLifeKing

NoLifeKing

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 172 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Finland
  • Chapter Name: Word Bearers

I see how this could be a problem.


Edited by NoLifeKing, 21 April 2017 - 01:05 AM.

nolifeking.png gallery_29004_9303_1654.pnggallery2900493031545.pnggallery_48988_13169_21191.pnggallery_29004_9303_5366.png


#10
Slips

Slips

    ++ ARCHIMAGIRUS RUDIS ++

  • ++ MODERATI ++
  • 12,639 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Montreal, Quebec, Canada
  • Chapter Name: V,VII,IX,XII,XV Legions

So, yeah, just doing it as regular interceptor (occurring at the end of movement) just makes things easier :P

 

And now back to the topic at hand! :D


Posted ImagePosted Image Posted Image

++Part of the ship...Part of the Crew++

+] Use the Report Button! [+


#11
Reclusiarch Darius

Reclusiarch Darius

    ++ PUNITOR FURENS ++

  • ++ MODERATI ++
  • 6,267 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Brisbane, Australia
1) Can I choose to use helical array even though it's not my turn yet?
2) If I can shoot the Intercepter fire, will I still have to Snap Shot the Leviathan due to Skyfire on the array?
3) If I have a character with augery scanner joined on a Rapier squad, and said Leviathan dropped within the scanner range, can the Rapier shoot it? 

 

1) So long as you haven't moved, yes. So for example if you had first turn and moved your Dreadnought, you can't use Helical Targeting Array. 

2) Yeah you will only Snap Shot. It's why Augury scanners are so useful

3) Yep, at the end of the enemy Movement phase (as per Interceptor rules). The Mechanicum augury scanner has the updated rules. 


"Already, you exalt me for my triumphs, when I ask only that you remember me for my treacheries.
Victory is nothing more than survival. It carries no weight of honour or worth beyond what we ascribe to it.
If you wish to grow wise, learn why brothers betray brothers."

Grand Master Khyron, Eighth Brotherhood

"One unbreakable shield against the coming darkness, One last blade, forged in defiance of fate,
Let them be my legacy to the galaxy I conquered. And my final gift to the species I failed."

Inscription upon the Arcus Daemonica, attributed to the Emperor of Mankind


#12
Niightcloak

Niightcloak

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 19 posts
  • Gender:Male

where did you get the "updated" rules from? they look exactly the same to me, even crosschecked with the crusade imperialis book


Edited by Niightcloak, 22 April 2017 - 07:40 AM.


#13
Reclusiarch Darius

Reclusiarch Darius

    ++ PUNITOR FURENS ++

  • ++ MODERATI ++
  • 6,267 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Brisbane, Australia

pg.110 of the Taghmata Omnissiah army book

 

'Augury Scanner:

...Enemy models deployed using Deep Strike within this range can also be attacked by a unit carrying an augury scanner in the Shooting phase as if their Rapid Fire and Heavy weapons (if they have any) had the Interceptor special rule'

 

So long as by the end of the enemy Movement phase the target is still within 18" of you, you're good to go. 


"Already, you exalt me for my triumphs, when I ask only that you remember me for my treacheries.
Victory is nothing more than survival. It carries no weight of honour or worth beyond what we ascribe to it.
If you wish to grow wise, learn why brothers betray brothers."

Grand Master Khyron, Eighth Brotherhood

"One unbreakable shield against the coming darkness, One last blade, forged in defiance of fate,
Let them be my legacy to the galaxy I conquered. And my final gift to the species I failed."

Inscription upon the Arcus Daemonica, attributed to the Emperor of Mankind


#14
Niightcloak

Niightcloak

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 19 posts
  • Gender:Male

but that is the point, the augury scanner states "in the Shooting Phase", Inteceptor states "at the end of the enemies movement phase"
problem being that the players who's turn it is decides in which order shooting attacks happen in his phase so he can simply make your Augury Scanner shoots happen after everything else in his shooting phase



#15
Reclusiarch Darius

Reclusiarch Darius

    ++ PUNITOR FURENS ++

  • ++ MODERATI ++
  • 6,267 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Brisbane, Australia
but that is the point, the augury scanner states "in the Shooting Phase", Inteceptor states "at the end of the enemies movement phase"
problem being that the players who's turn it is decides in which order shooting attacks happen in his phase so he can simply make your Augury Scanner shoots happen after everything else in his shooting phase

 

No that's the old wording to Augury Scanner. Mechanicum have 18" Interceptor. 

 

Personally I'd play it as being the same for Legion and SA/Militia. 


"Already, you exalt me for my triumphs, when I ask only that you remember me for my treacheries.
Victory is nothing more than survival. It carries no weight of honour or worth beyond what we ascribe to it.
If you wish to grow wise, learn why brothers betray brothers."

Grand Master Khyron, Eighth Brotherhood

"One unbreakable shield against the coming darkness, One last blade, forged in defiance of fate,
Let them be my legacy to the galaxy I conquered. And my final gift to the species I failed."

Inscription upon the Arcus Daemonica, attributed to the Emperor of Mankind


#16
Niightcloak

Niightcloak

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 19 posts
  • Gender:Male

unless you quoted something different then what you are talking about the it is exactly as I said before



#17
Reclusiarch Darius

Reclusiarch Darius

    ++ PUNITOR FURENS ++

  • ++ MODERATI ++
  • 6,267 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Brisbane, Australia

pg.110 of the Taghmata Omnissiah army book

 

'Augury Scanner:

...Enemy models deployed using Deep Strike within this range can also be attacked by a unit carrying an augury scanner in the Shooting phase as if their Rapid Fire and Heavy weapons (if they have any) had the Interceptor special rule'

 

So long as by the end of the enemy Movement phase the target is still within 18" of you, you're good to go. 

 

That's how the rule appears in the Mechanicum army book. I generally operate on the assumption that latest > older rules. FW have innumerable oversights in their books, this is just one such discrepancy. Taghmata came out after the Legion army list. So I would have no problem with Legion players using the 18" Interceptor bubble version. It works as intended and the older wording I think is a hangover from 6th edition. 


  • Black Orange likes this

"Already, you exalt me for my triumphs, when I ask only that you remember me for my treacheries.
Victory is nothing more than survival. It carries no weight of honour or worth beyond what we ascribe to it.
If you wish to grow wise, learn why brothers betray brothers."

Grand Master Khyron, Eighth Brotherhood

"One unbreakable shield against the coming darkness, One last blade, forged in defiance of fate,
Let them be my legacy to the galaxy I conquered. And my final gift to the species I failed."

Inscription upon the Arcus Daemonica, attributed to the Emperor of Mankind


#18
Slips

Slips

    ++ ARCHIMAGIRUS RUDIS ++

  • ++ MODERATI ++
  • 12,639 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Montreal, Quebec, Canada
  • Chapter Name: V,VII,IX,XII,XV Legions

 

pg.110 of the Taghmata Omnissiah army book

 

'Augury Scanner:

...Enemy models deployed using Deep Strike within this range can also be attacked by a unit carrying an augury scanner in the Shooting phase as if their Rapid Fire and Heavy weapons (if they have any) had the Interceptor special rule'

 

So long as by the end of the enemy Movement phase the target is still within 18" of you, you're good to go. 

 

That's how the rule appears in the Mechanicum army book. I generally operate on the assumption that latest > older rules. FW have innumerable oversights in their books, this is just one such discrepancy. Taghmata came out after the Legion army list. So I would have no problem with Legion players using the 18" Interceptor bubble version. It works as intended and the older wording I think is a hangover from 6th edition. 

 

Thats the same wording as the Space Marine one though:

 

pg.131: LA:AODL

"[...] Enemy models deployed using Deep Strike within this range can also be attacked by a unit carrying an augury scanner in the Shooting phase as if their Rapid Fire and Heavy weapons (if they have any) had the Interceptor Special rule."

 

Problem here, is that, when does this "Interceptor-like" attack happen in your opponents Shooting Phase? Since regular interceptor happens at the end of the movement phase.

 

Thats the issue here.

 

And, what a few people have ruled is that, to save everybody some trouble, just roll with it as being actual interceptor occurring at the end of the movement phase for less headaches/debates/etc.


  • Niightcloak likes this

Posted ImagePosted Image Posted Image

++Part of the ship...Part of the Crew++

+] Use the Report Button! [+


#19
Caillum

Caillum

    ++ MERCATOR ANGUIS ++

  • ++ MODERATI ++
  • 1,522 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Perth, Western Australia
  • Chapter Name: XXth Legion
^ Exactly. It's the only way to make it work efficiently. Counts as the Interceptor special rule is all cases, except for 18" range.

Edited by Caillum, 25 April 2017 - 01:04 AM.

The Battle of Paramar Nexus - Caillum's HH Plog

 

=][=

 

This is a sample of my Moderator voice.

I don't want to have to use it, so if you play nice and post constructively, I won't have to.

 

=][=


#20
Niightcloak

Niightcloak

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 19 posts
  • Gender:Male

thanks, was beginning to think I'm the only one that has a problem with the shooting/movement wording
and we to use it just like normal 18" interceptor because else it would be kinda pointless



#21
Reclusiarch Darius

Reclusiarch Darius

    ++ PUNITOR FURENS ++

  • ++ MODERATI ++
  • 6,267 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Brisbane, Australia

Well I think FW just mangled the wording. Interceptor happens specifically at the end of the enemy Movement phase. So that's when you use it. Otherwise yeah its literally pointless. 


"Already, you exalt me for my triumphs, when I ask only that you remember me for my treacheries.
Victory is nothing more than survival. It carries no weight of honour or worth beyond what we ascribe to it.
If you wish to grow wise, learn why brothers betray brothers."

Grand Master Khyron, Eighth Brotherhood

"One unbreakable shield against the coming darkness, One last blade, forged in defiance of fate,
Let them be my legacy to the galaxy I conquered. And my final gift to the species I failed."

Inscription upon the Arcus Daemonica, attributed to the Emperor of Mankind


#22
Brother Captain Spud

Brother Captain Spud

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 69 posts
I had a weird experience with the deredeo a few weeks back. What weapons can he fire with interceptor and is it only as snapshots?

#23
Niightcloak

Niightcloak

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 19 posts
  • Gender:Male
Helical targeting array grants Interceptor AND Skyfire for all its weapons so he can only use full BS against flyers and skimmers, everything else is snapshots
Additionally you have to declare the use in your movement phase so you already have those rules in your turn

Edited by Niightcloak, 03 May 2017 - 04:28 AM.

  • Black Orange likes this

#24
Dono1979

Dono1979

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 1,937 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Canberra, Australia
  • Chapter Name: Kildrech Crusade

Something to also keep in mind is that the Dreadnought cannot turn to face the target. It must use its current facing and firing arc of 45 degrees, Dreadnoughts can only pivot in their movement phase or in the assault phase when being assaulted (they may turn to face the charging unit).



#25
Brother Captain Spud

Brother Captain Spud

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 69 posts
Is that in the BRB?



Reply to this topic



  


0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users